Variations on Dawn and Dusk

By Dan Beachy-Quick

Available

Product Details

Price: $13.95  $12.83
Publisher: Omnidawn
Published Date: October 15, 2019
Pages: 48
Dimensions: 5.3 X 0.2 X 6.8 inches | 0.15 pounds
ISBN: 9781632430700
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Dan Beachy-Quick is a poet and essayist and the assistant chair of the English Department of Colorado State University. He has published six books of poetry and is a Guggenheim Fellow.

Reviews

"Something quite literally ultimate transpires in these Variations on Dawn and Dusk, as Beachy-Quick has found a way to map the interstices--between quanta of light; between syllables; between the nearly inaudible sounds of colors upon surface. To my certain knowledge, no one has accomplished this since Dame Julian of Norwich. These quiet poems are a torrent of angels, and I cannot look away." --Donald Revell, author of The English Boat
"A true American metaphysical in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Susan Howe, Beachy-Quick is our postmodern antinomian, suspicious not of a moribund faith but of the truth claims of consciousness itself. These fierce lyrics of existential grief display his preternatural attunement to thought at the moment it turns inward upon itself not for comfort but in grave confrontation." --Brian Teare, author of Doomstead Days
"A work of ekphrasis based on Robert Irwin's Untitled (Dawn to Dusk) set in the desert of Marfa, Tex., draws inspiration from the sun as it warms, cools, colors, and shifts, resulting in a series of poems whose patterns are informed by their subject: light."--Publishers Weekly