Vanishing New York: How a Great City Lost Its Soul

Available

Product Details

Price
$18.99  $17.47
Publisher
Dey Street Books
Publish Date
Pages
480
Dimensions
5.4 X 1.2 X 7.9 inches | 0.7 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062439680
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jeremiah Moss, creator of the award-winning blog Vanishing New York, is the pen name of Griffin Hansbury. His writing on the city has appeared in the New York Times, the New York Daily News, and online for the New Yorker and the Paris Review.

Reviews

"Essential reading for fans of Jane Jacobs, Joseph Mitchell, Patti Smith, Luc Sante, and cheap pierogi."--David Kamp, Vanity Fair
"I haven't read a more impassioned book in over a decade. Vanishing New York is angry, incredulous, but also full of insight into a city of legend, where every legend happened to be true."--Gary Shteyngart
"Jeremiah Moss came to the party that is New York City just in time to see it turn into a wake.His book is lucid, eloquent, phenomenally detailed, and terribly sad. Future generations, assuming there are any, will read it in wonder and disbelief."--Luc Sante
"Meticulously researched, thoroughly reported, at once a call to arms and a soul cry, Vanishing New York is a love letter to originality and the human spirit. Grab a knish and settle in."-- Charles Bock, New York Times bestselling author of Alice and Oliver
"One of the most thorough and pugnacious chroniclers of New York's blandification."--The Atlantic
"A very good, angrily passionate, and ultimately saddening book [. . . ] brilliantly written and well-informed."--Booklist
"For those of us who've watched hopelessly as our beautiful city has turned into an assortment of Duane Reades and Starbucks, this book is a must-read. Jeremiah Moss bears witness on our behalf, and puts it all into brilliant perspective."--Andy Cohen, host and executive producer, "Watch What Happens Live With Andy Cohen"
"A wrenching, exhaustive chronicle of the 'hypergentrification of New York' [. . .] Every page is charged with Moss's deep love of New York. It is both a vital and unequivocally depressing read."--The Village Voice
"A full-throated lament for the city's bygone charms."--Wall Street Journal
"Wrathful howl."--Harper's Magazine
"We should all buy Jeremiah Moss's book, Vanishing New York."--Sarah Jessica Parker
"A vigorous, righteously indignant book that would do Jane Jacobs proud."--Kirkus Reviews