Untamed Shore

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Description

Renowned author Silvia Moreno-Garcia's first thriller, UNTAMED SHORE, is a coming-of-age story set in Mexico which quickly turns dark when a young woman meets three enigmatic tourists.
Baja California, 1979. Viridiana spends her days watching the dead sharks piled beside the seashore, as the fishermen pull their nets. There is nothing else to do, nothing else to watch, under the harsh sun. She's bored. Terribly bored. Yet her head is filled with dreams of Hollywood films, of romance, of a future beyond the drab town where her only option is to marry and have children.
Three wealthy American tourists arrive for the summer, and Viridiana is magnetized. She immediately becomes entwined in the glamorous foreigners' lives. They offer excitement, and perhaps an escape from the promise of a humdrum future.
When one of them dies, Viridiana lies to protect her friends. Soon enough, someone's asking questions, and Viridiana has some of her own about the identity of her new acquaintances. Sharks may be dangerous, but there are worse predators nearby, ready to devour a naïve young woman who is quickly being tangled in a web of deceit.
Silvia Moreno-Garcia is one of the most exciting voices in fiction, and with her first crime novel, UNTAMED SHORE, she crafts a blazing novel of suspense with an eerie seaside setting and a literary edge that proves her a master of the genre.

Product Details

Price
$31.19
Publisher
Agora Books
Publish Date
February 11, 2020
Pages
304
Dimensions
5.5 X 1.0 X 8.5 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781947993921
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Mexican by birth, Canadian by inclination. Silvia Moreno-Garcia's first novel Signal to Noise won a Copper Cylinder Award and was nominated for the British Fantasy, Locus, Sunburst and Aurora awards. Her second novel, Certain Dark Things was selected as one of NPR's best books of 2016 and was a finalist for the Locus and Sunburst awards. She has also edited several anthologies, including the World Fantasy Award-winning She Walks in Shadows (a.k.a. Cthulhu's Daughters). Gods of Jade and Shadow is her latest novel, and Untamed Shore is her first thriller. She lives in Vancouver. Find her online SilviaMoreno-Garcia.com, and on Twitter @silviamg

Reviews

PRAISE FOR SILVIA MORENO-GARCIA'S LATEST BOOK--GODS OF JADE AND SHADOWS (DEL REY)
"A magical novel of duality, tradition, and change."--Publisher's Weekly (Starred Review)
"Casiopea Tun will capture your heart and draw you into a jewel-toned world of mythmaking and jazz music."--Lara Elena Donnelly
"Snappy dialog, stellar worldbuilding, lyrical prose, and a slow-burn romance make this a standout."--Library Journal (Starred Review)
"Simultaneously heartbreaking and heart-mending, GODS OF JADE AND SHADOW is a wondrous and magical tale about choosing our own path. I felt weepy and happy and hopeful when I finished--everything you want to feel at the end of a great story."--Kevin Hearne, New York Times bestselling author of THE IRON DRUID CHRONICLES and A PLAGUE OF GIANTS
"An elegant and immersive tale, Silvia Moreno-Garcia's Gods of Jade and Shadow opened my eyes to the Mayan Underworld and took me on an adventure with a strong-willed, practical heroine and a prickly fallen god that I never wanted to end. It feels like a modern classic and is absolutely unforgettable."--Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the THREE DARK CROWNS series

PRAISE FOR SILVIA MORENO-GARCIA'S CERTAIN DARK THINGS
"[S]uspenseful, character-driven, and powerfully emotional.... CERTAIN DARK THINGS does for vampires what Stephen Graham Jones did for werewolves in his novel Mongrels earlier this year: beautifully and powerfully reinvigorates one of the seminal horror fiction monsters in some truly unexpected and sublime ways....Filled with powerful themes of trust, corruption, vengeance, and bloodlust, this novel is by turns sensual and grim, introspective and disturbing, suspenseful and moving, and all told in the sleek and lyrical prose for which Moreno-Garcia is deservedly acclaimed." ―New York Journal of Books
"All the characters in this book are as sharply realized as the city in which they live and fight.... I love to see compelling new takes on vampires, and Certain Dark Things succeeds beautifully.... Smart, tender and insightful." ―NPR.org
"The Mexican setting is a huge part of the allure of this new novel from Moreno-Garcia (Signal to Noise), as are the fascinating varieties of vampires she sets forth." ―Library Journal (Starred Review)
"Moreno-Garcia is an author to watch." ―Publishers Weekly
"[A] gangster vampire story that transcends the genre." ―PopSugar
"Darkly ironic world building is the real treat of Silvia Moreno-Garcia's Certain Dark Things." ―New York Times Book Review

PRAISE FOR SILVIA MORENO-GARCIA'S SIGNAL TO NOISE, WINNER OF A COPPER CYLINDER AWARD, FINALIST OF THE BRITISH FANTASY, LOCUS, SUNBURST AND AURORA AWARDS
"Refreshing, lively and unique, Moreno-Garcia's debut novel is a triumph."--RT Book Reviews
"I know it's very early in the year but I can already tell this is one of the Notable Reads of 2015."--Kirkus
"Haunting and beautifully nuanced, SIGNAL TO NOISE is a magical first novel."--The Guardian
OUTSTANDING ADVANCE PRAISE FOR UNTAMED SHORE

  • "The descriptions of Baja are uncommonly evocative of gritty reality, with poverty and desperation made plain on the page, as well as the lengths people are willing to go to in order to escape...(an) insightful look at criminal life from the viewpoint of a sardonic yet lonely soul seems destined for more plaudits."--Booklist (Starred Review)
  • "This thriller sets a quiet tone before building slowly and evenly, showing how a meek teenager trapped by circumstance grows into a strong woman who takes control of her future, though in the end it might change who she is. For fans of Celeste Ng, Alafair Burke, and Kent Anderson."--Library Journal (Starred Review)
  • "The Great Gatsby meets Night of the Iguana in this elegantly spare and darkly twisted story of undercurrents, deception and colliding cultures. Rich in atmosphere and sinister in tone, this impressive debut is a haunting lesson in the dangers of desire and the illusion of glamour--and how dreams can be devoured by deceit."--Hank Phillipi Ryan, Nationally Bestselling author of THE MURDER LIST
  • "Silvia Moreno-Garcia is a wonderfully evocative writer, and she uses her skills to their best advantage in her first book of crime fiction. Atmospheric, compelling and very suspenseful, UNTAMED SHORE is a welcome addition to the genre."--Alison Gaylin, Edgar Award-winning author
  • "Untamed Shore is both transporting and transfixing. Set in a small Baja town in the seedy 1970s, Silvia Moreno-Garcia's latest takes us into a world soaked in sunshine and secrets, where everyone is working an angle and the looming sense of menace builds with nearly each page-turn. A shrewd, exciting thriller by a writer with a fresh vision and a powerful voice."--Julia Dahl author of the award-winning Rebekah Roberts series
  • "Untamed Shore is a masterpiece. I loved this book, and can't get Viridiana out of my head. Silvia Moreno-Garcia's characters are unforgettable and no one and nothing is quite what they seem. I devoured this like one of Viridiana's sharks. Truly a stunning work."--Amina Akhtar, author of #FashionVictim
  • "Silvia Moreno-Garcia's UNTAMED SHORE is a treat: the first thriller from a seasoned writer. This is a superb hybrid that's part classic whodunit, part sad love story, and part smart, pulpy noir packed with smiling snakes, a touch of mythology, and a strong female lead that's caught between her immediate reality and her dreams of escape, all inside the hermetic, oppressive hell of small-town gossip and oldfangled morality. This is a novel about greed, murder, and snowballing peccadilloes that moves forward with the power and grace of a shark. Don't miss it."--Gabino Iglesias, author of COYOTE SONGS and ZERO SAINTS
  • "A sense of inevitable dread builds from seemingly innocuous events in this masterful crime debut from Silvia Moreno-Garcia. The period detail is fantastic, the Mexican setting vibrant and fresh, and the noir is as murky as seawater after a shark feeding frenzy. I loved it!"--Lavie Tidhar, multiple award-winning author of A Man Lies Dreaming and Osama
  • "An engaging sojourn illuminated by prose as bright and clear as the Baja sun. A plot driven by characters whose motives are as murky and treacherous as stormy gulf waters."--Mario Acevedo, author of the Felix Gomez vampire-detective series