Unreasonable Doubts

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.95  $15.59
Publisher
She Writes Press
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.5 X 0.8 X 8.4 inches | 0.92 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781631524134
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

After graduating from Yale College and Yale Law School, Reyna Marder Gentin practiced first as a juvenile rights attorney with the Legal Aid Society and then as a criminal appellate attorney with a nonprofit public defender's office for nearly eighteen years. That work inspired the story of Unreasonable Doubts. Reyna keeps a hand in the law as a volunteer, representing clients in domestic violence cases who seek restraining orders against their intimate partners. Reyna's personal essays and short stories have been widely published. You can find links to all her pieces at www.reynamardergentin.com. Reyna lives with her family in Westchester, New York. She is currently hard at work on her second novel, Both Are True.

Reviews

2019 Women's Fiction Writers Association Star Award Finalist in Outstanding Debut Fiction "Fans of Allison Leotta and Lisa Scottoline will appreciate the domestic and romantic elements as well as the legal intrigue." --Booklist "...intelligently written.... There is something in this story for everyone, and if you are like I was, the ending is going to be worth the wait." --Reader Views "Can head and heart possibly make the scales of Justice balance, or must one prevail? Reyna Gentin's first novel is not only intelligent, but deeply moving. She knows the law and she knows her characters. Well done!" --Susan Isaacs, author of Compromising Positions, After All These Years, and As Husbands Go "Unreasonable Doubts is a promising debut. An intriguing blend of romance and legal suspense from a new writer to watch." --William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob "Reyna Marder Gentin's passion for the law shines in her debut novel. And Gentin's deft exploration of justice, love, and tradition sets Unreasonable Doubts apart. A new talent has arrived!" --Rabbi Joseph Telushkin, best-selling author of Jewish Literacy: The Most Important Things to Know About the Jewish Religion, Its People and Its History, and the Rabbi Daniel Winter mystery series "Reyna Marder Gentin's Unreasonable Doubts takes you behind the closed doors of lawyers' offices and courtrooms... A compelling look at the legal system with vivid and unforgettable characters who will keep you up at night, worrying about them." --Jimin Han, author of A Small Revolution "A blend of drama, romance, and legal suspense, Gentin's novel is engaging and fast-paced, immediately sweeping you into the tale." --Dayton Jewish Observer ". . . [a] page-turner love story and legal thriller." --bookscover2cover "A compelling, aptly named novel about a young lawyer's search for clarity and fulfillment in her career, love relationship(s), and spiritual life. Reyna Marder Gentin, a former lawyer, is, without a reasonable doubt, a writing talent that is headed for a promising career as an author." --Miriam Arond, former director of the Good Housekeeping Institute, former editor-in-chief of Child and American Health magazines, and coauthor of The First Year of Marriage: What to Expect, What to Accept and What You Can Change "Thrilling and informative, a superb novel that should be read by all those interested in how our criminal justice system really works." --Kenneth R. Feinberg, former administrator of the 9/11 Victims Compensation Fund "The crisply written Unreasonable Doubts moves quickly and keeps readers on the edge of their seat with dialogue that rings true. Author Reyna Marder Gentin knows her stuff and displays that in her debut novel." ―Andy Gotlieb, Jewish Exponent "A wonderful debut novel, it's a legal thriller with substance--a page-turner that will trigger introspection and reflection." --David Lat, Editor-at-Large, Above the Law, and author of Supreme Ambitions "Gentin gives us a little legal drama, a little psychological thriller, a taste of crime story, and lots of romance. Best of all, she gives us characters who come to life as real people who will stay with us long after we close the book." --Readers' Favorite "A delectable book about a charming and savvy young lawyer dealing with demanding personal and professional issues of enormous interest to any reader." --Floyd Abrams, author of The Soul of the First Amendment