Under Shifting Stars

Alexandra Latos (Author)
Pre-Order   Ships Sep 29, 2020

Description

This heartfelt novel for fans of Jandy Nelson and Adam Silvera follows twins Audrey and Clare as they grapple with their brother's death and their changing relationships-with each other and themselves.

Audrey's best friend was always her twin, Clare. But as they got older, they grew apart, and when their brother Adam died, Clare blamed Audrey for the accident. Now, Audrey's attending an alternative school where she feels more isolated than ever. Tired of being seen as different from her neurotypical peers, Audrey's determined to switch to the public high school, rebuild her friendship with Clare, and atone for Adam's death . . . but she'll need to convince her parents, and her therapist, first.

Clare knows her sister thinks she's the perfect twin, but Audrey doesn't realize that Clare's "popular" status is crumbling--she's begun to question old friendships, dress in Adam's clothes, and wonder what feelings for a nonbinary classmate, Taylor, might mean. As she grapples with not only grief but also her gender fluidity, Clare wonders where she'll belong if she sheds her carefully constructed image and embraces her true self.

Will first crushes, new family dynamics, and questions of identity prove that Audrey and Clare have grown too different to understand each other-or that they've needed each other all along?

Product Details

Price
$17.98  $16.54
Publisher
Houghton Mifflin
Publish Date
September 29, 2020
Pages
272
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780358067757
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Alexandra Latos lives in Alberta, Canada with her husband and children. This is her first young adult novel. Visit her at alexandralatos.com, or on Twitter and Instagram @alexandralatos.

Reviews

"Sharply observed, laugh-out-loud funny, and entirely necessary; Under Shifting Stars shines like a supernova." - Ashley Little, author of Confessions of a Teenage Leper

"Luminous and lovely, heart-breaking and ultimately hopeful, this shimmering new novel explores how to be ourselves in a hard world." - Alice Kuipers, author of Life on the Refrigerator Door

"A gutting and exquisite portrait of resilience in the face of grief, Under Shifting Stars renders the complexities of life and love as twins struggle to find themselves and the connection they've lost. Audrey and Clare are achingly real with voices that are masterfully distinct. Suspended in melodic prose that had my heart aching to the very end, Latos renders hope in a novel that is unlike anything I've ever read." - Heather Ezell, author of Nothing Left to Burn