Turning Darkness Into Light

Available

Product Details

Price
$19.99  $18.39
Publisher
Tor Books
Publish Date
Pages
416
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.2 X 1.2 inches | 0.75 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780765377623

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

MARIE BRENNAN habitually pillages her background in anthropology, archaeology, and folklore for fictional purposes. She is the author of the Onyx Court series, the Doppelganger duology of Warrior and Witch, and the urban fantasy Lies and Prophecy, as well as more than thirty short stories. The first book in the Lady Trent Memoirs series, A Natural History of Dragons, was nominated for a World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, and the entire series has been nominated for a Hugo

Reviews

Praise for Marie Brennan and The Memoirs of Lady Trent Series

These chronicles have the power of fabulous and historic voyages, along with a wry wit that refuses to accept the standard notions of any era--past, present, or future.--Locus on The Memoirs of Lady Trent series

"Isabella, Lady Trent, narrates her astounding adventures from volume to volume, blending Victorian pastiche and alternate-world fantasy with a distinctly pulp sensibility...now is the time to get acquainted."--NPR on The Voyage of the Basilisk

This mix of scientific and [fantastic] remains in fine form. --Publishers Weekly, on In the Labyrinth of Drakes

Smart and nuanced...Overwhelmingly fun and a perfectly delightful [summer] read.--io9 on The Tropic of Serpents

Uncompromisingly honest and forthright [and] narrated in Brennan's usual crisp, vivid style.... Reader, lose no time in making Isabella's acquaintance. --Kirkus Reviews (starred review), on The Tropic of Serpents

If you've ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you. Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book. --RT Book Reviews on A Natural History of Dragons

Discoveries about the connections between dragons and humans mix with bone-punk technology, and revelations crash like waves in a satisfying conclusion. --Publishers Weekly on Voyage of the Basilisk

Told in the style of a Victorian memoir, courageous, intelligent and determined Isabella's account is colorful, vigorous and absorbing.--Kirkus Reviews, on A Natural History of Dragons

Saturated with the joy and urgency of discovery and scientific curiosity.--Publishers Weekly, (starred review), on A Natural History of Dragons