Trouble the Water

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.95  $15.59
Publisher
Sparkpress
Publish Date
May 08, 2018
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.3 X 0.9 inches | 0.85 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781943006540

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jacqueline Friedland is the author of the award-winning novels Trouble the Water and That's Not a Thing. She holds a BA from the University of Pennsylvania and a JD from NYU Law School. She practiced as an attorney in New York for a hot second before transitioning to writing full time. She lives in New York with her husband, four children, and two very bossy dogs.

Reviews

2019 American Fiction Awards, Coming of Age: Finalist 2019 Foreword Indies Finalist in Adult Fiction--Historical 2018 IPPY Silver Winner in South--Best Regional Fiction

"... will seize readers from the first page and not let go."
--Kirkus Reviews

"Fans of Paulette Jiles and Julia Quinn will adore this triumphant novel of intrigue, secrecy, and redemption."
--Booklist

"Sweet and tender, this is a story with a slow-burning chemistry between the main leads, in addition to plenty of historical facts for readers who are seeking a well-researched historical fiction novel. It's a story not to be rushed through, but one to savor."
--Fresh Fiction

"With compelling characters, a charming peek into Charleston society, a heart-racing romance, rich historical detail, and an epilogue that will have you holding your breath, Friedland has written a well-crafted novel that will stay with you long after you turn the final page."
--Susie Orman Schnall, award-winning author of The Subway Girls, The Balance Project, and On Grace

"Friedland is a modern Bronte sister remixed with Kathleen Grissom or Leila Meacham. Trouble the Water is the riveting story of Abby, who travels across the sea, fleeing Liverpool, poverty, and an unsavory uncle, for Charleston, where a wealthy friend of her father, Douglas, lives. Douglas has pledged himself to the fight to end slavery, and for that, he has made the ultimate sacrifice. Abby fights inner demons and tries to find her place in Charleston high society while her brooding guardian reconciles the past and returns to his beloved cause. Lovers of Civil War-era historical fiction will rejoice at Friedland's triumphant novel of love, friendship, and the most important issues of the day."
--Bethany Ball, author of What to do About the Solomons

"The complicated history of the antebellum South comes alive in Friedland's debut novel and offers readers an exciting and fast-paced literary journey that explores complicated relationships, the importance of friendship, and the necessary power of love."
--Kris Radish, best-selling author of A Dangerous Woman From Nowhere

"With a plucky heroine, a dashing hero, and the backdrop of the clandestine abolition movement in the antebellum South, Jacqueline Friedland masterfully weaves a tale full of passion and honor, duty and survival, evil and the beauty of basic human decency. Trouble the Water will make your heart pound and swell, and keep you reading well into the night. Highly recommended!"
--Loretta Nyhan, author of I'll Be Seeing You, All the Good Parts, and Digging In

"In a narrative tapestry woven of brilliant threads of history and drama, Jacqueline Friedland introduces her readers to seventeen-year-old British-born Abigail Milton; her generous but reluctant benefactor, Douglas Elling; and the complex world of antebellum Charleston. The evil of slavery, the nascent abolitionist movement, and the courage of an operative of the underground railroad are explored against the background of the vanished world of debutante cotillions, social intrigue, and the slow maturity and melding of skillfully drawn protagonists. Friedland's research is impeccable, her writing fluid. Trouble the Water is that rare pedagogic novel that engages as it teaches."
--Gloria Goldreich, author of The Bridal Chair

"Trouble the Water is a story that takes you to another time and place; the characters and their tales will stay with you long after the last page. Readers who are interested in Civil War history will enjoy this novel." --Story Circle Book Reviews