Tropic of Kansas

Available

Product Details

Price
$15.99
Publisher
Harper Voyager
Publish Date
February 14, 2020
Pages
480
Dimensions
5.3 X 1.1 X 8.0 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062563811

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Christopher Brown's debut novel Tropic of Kansas was a finalist for the Campbell Award for best science fiction novel of 2018, and he was a World Fantasy Award nominee for the anthology Three Messages and a Warning. His short fiction and criticism has appeared in a variety of magazines and anthologies, including MIT Technology Review, LitHub, Tor.com and The Baffler. He lives in Austin, Texas, where he also practices law.

Reviews

"[A] real page turner."--Gavin J. Grant, Bram Stoker Award-winning editor and author
"A unique blend of Philip K. Dick, Kafka (just a smidgen), and a whole lot of Christopher Brown. Adventure novel meets political satire and the finest elements of realistic sci-fi, and it's so well written it goes down like a greased eel. It's hopeful dystopia. What a book."
--Joe R. Lansdale, author of the Hap and Leonard series
"Futurist as provocateur! The world is sheer bat-shit genius...a truly hallucinatorily envisioned environment."--William Gibson, New York Times bestselling and award-winning author
"The great American novel about the end of America. This book is marvelously propulsive, big hearted, and whip smart."--Kelly Link, Pulitzer Prize-nominated author of Get in Trouble
"Timely, dark, and ultimately hopeful: it might not 'make America great again, ' but then again, it just might."--Cory Doctorow, New York Times bestselling and award winning author of Homeland
"This stunning novel of a time all too easily imaginable as our own highlights a few of the keen-voiced, brave-souled women and men who balance like subversive acrobats on society's whirling edges...Read it to burn with the joy of realistic hope."--Nisi Shawl, Tiptree-award winning author of Everfair and Writing the Other
"Tropic of Kansas is the tale of a politically desperate USA haunted by a sullen, feral teen who is Huck Finn, Conan and Tarzan. Because it's Chris Brown's own imaginary America, this extraordinary novel is probably more American than America itself will ever get."--Bruce Sterling, award-winning author of Islands in the Net and Pirate Utopia
"Tropic of Kansas is savvy political thriller meets ripping pulp adventure-a marriage made in page-turning, thought-provoking heaven. It's a vision both frighteningly prescient and already too real, and a story of valiant heart and brain up against the worst architectures of greed and power."--Jessica Reisman, SESFA award-winning author of Substrate Phantoms
"This book is a powerful vision of an America that might be, an America that some nights seems as though it is all too likely to be, filled with powerful characters and a chilling presentiment of how far our country could fall...a novel well worth reading."--San Francisco Book Review
"Tropic of Kansas is like a modern dystopian buffet [...] It is, in this particular moment in history, frighteningly prescient. It is the nightly news with the volume turned up to 11."--NPR.org
"Tropic of Kansas is a great novel. Brown's writing is tightly composed, and flows nicely...Definitely recommended."--Civilian Reader
"This wildly audacious alternate history pits a black lawyer and her semi-feral stepbrother against a paranoid U.S. government defending its ex-movie-star president, who was maimed during a foiled assassination attempt. This funny, heart-wrenching book cuts through genre expectations with the speed of a jackhammer."--Seattle Times
"This vision of the future is violent, unforgiving, and bleak: Cormac McCarthy meets Philip K. Dick. It's disturbing because of how believable it is...It's remarkably effective. Recommended for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and China Miรฉville."--Booklist
"A new mutation of the alternate history novel."--Norman Spinrad (Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine)
"Fun, fast, violent, smart, and with enough adventure and science fiction elements to keep fans of both genres happy, this was more than a superb novel: it was the kind of book that announces the arrival of an author at the top of his game."--LitReactor (Best of 2017)