Tower Dog: Life Inside the Deadliest Job in America

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.95  $15.59
Publisher
Soft Skull Press
Publish Date
April 25, 2017
Pages
304
Dimensions
6.0 X 0.9 X 8.9 inches | 0.75 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781619029385
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Douglas Scott Delaney is an award-winning and produced playwright and screenwriter. He has done development work with Fox Searchlight and Columbia Pictures, among many others, and has done production work for both TV and film. His one produced film, All Roads Lead Home, won Best Picture at the Los Angeles International Film Festival in 2007. His short fiction has been published in Kansas Quarterly, Prism International and Western Humanities Review. His drama has been performed in theaters all over the United States. Delaney was born in Brooklyn, New York, and raised in Levittown, Long Island. He now lives in the Kansas Flint Hills, where he is at least a quarter mile from anyone who could aggravate me, and vice versa. He has been a tower dog since 1997.

Reviews

"I was totally compelled by this ... the writing is strong; in the tradition of Junger, Langwiesche, Krakauer...with a dash of Hunter S. Thompson." --Jon Winokur, author of bestselling memoirs The Garner Files and But Enough About Me

"A vivid book guaranteed to make readers more aware of what it takes to get that cellphone signal into his or her hand, for better or worse." --Kirkus Reviews

"Delaney's descriptions of working on broadcast towers document fatigue (90-hour weeks) and fear (of gravity's heartlessness) and reverberate with bravado... Delaney's book promotes appreciation for those who risk their lives so we can get a cell-phone signal, and it just might provoke some acrophobia, too." --Booklist