Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women & Witchcraft

Kate Hart (Author) Tehlor Kay Mejia (Author)
& 7 more
Available

Product Details

Price
$18.99  $17.47
Publisher
Harlequin Teen
Publish Date
August 28, 2018
Pages
416
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.3 X 1.4 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781335016270

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Kate Hart has worked as a teacher and grantwriter and currently builds treehouses. She is a blogger for YA Highway and hosts the Badass Ladies You Should Know series online. After the Fall is her first novel. She lives in northwest Arkansas.

Tehlor Kay Mejia is the author of the critically acclaimed young adult fantasy novel We Set the Dark on Fire as well as its sequel, We Unleash the Merciless Storm; Miss Meteor (co-written with National Book Award nominee Anna-Marie McLemore); and her middle grade debut, Paola Santiago and the River of Tears.

Her debut novel received six starred reviews and was chosen as an Indie Next Pick and a Junior Library Guild selection, as well as being an IndieBound bestseller in the Pacific Northwest region. It has been featured in Seventeen, Cosmopolitan, and O The Oprah Magazine and named a best book of 2019 by Kirkus and School Library Journal.

Tehlor lives in Oregon with her daughter, two very small dogs, and several rescued houseplants.

Tess Sharpe is the author of Barbed Wire Heart and the critically acclaimed young-adult novel Far from You. She is also the co-editor, along with Jessica Spotswood, of Toil & Trouble, a feminist young-adult anthology about witches.

Shveta Thakrar's debut novel, Star Daughter, is a standalone YA fantasy perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Laini Taylor, and Margaret Rogerson. Shveta's work has appeared in a number of magazines and anthologies, including Enchanted Living, Uncanny Magazine, and Toil & Trouble. You can find her online at www.shvetathakrar.com and on Twitter and Instagram at @ShvetaThakrar.

Brandy Colbert is the critically acclaimed author of several novels, whose Pointe won the 2014 Cybils Award for young adult fiction and was named a best book of 2014 by Publishers Weekly, BookRiot, and more. Her Little & Lion was a Junior Library Guild and a Book of the Month Club selection. She was chosen as a Publishers Weekly Flying Start author for spring 2014. She was born and raised in Springfield, Missouri, and earned a bachelors degree in journalism from Missouri State University. She works as a copy editor for magazines and books.

Emery Lord is the author of Open Road Summer, The Start of Me and You, and When We Collided. She lives in a pink row house in Cincinnati, with a husband, two rescue dogs, and a closet full of impractical shoes. www.emerylord.comTwitter: @emerylord
Marie Rutkoski is the author of The Winner's Trilogy, The Kronos Chronicles, and The Shadow Society. Rutkoski is currently a professor at Brooklyn College, where she teaches Renaissance Drama, children's literature and creative writing. She lives in Brooklyn, New York. marierutkoski.com

Brenna Yovanoff was raised in a barn, a tent, and a tepee, and was homeschooled until high school. She spent her formative years in Arkansas, in a town heavily populated by snakes, where turkeys would sometimes drop out of the sky, before moving to Colorado when she was five. Her short fiction has appeared in Chiaroscuro and Strange Horizons. She holds an MFA in fiction from Colorado State University and is the New York Times bestselling author of The Replacement and The Space Between. She currently lives in Denver with her husband.

Jessica Spotswood lives in Washington, DC, with her husband and works as a children's library associate. Her novel Wild Swans was chosen for ALA's 2017 Amelia Bloomer List. Visit jessicaspotswood.com.

Reviews

"The tone of the stories range from breezy to devastating, the settings from historical to dystopian, the genres from romance to revenge fantasy....the collective impact is undeniably resounding." -Booklist (starred review)

"At the heart of each [story] is a girl (or girls) learning to discover her power...The collective impact is undeniably resounding, and the particularly strong back half will leave readers more than a little bewitched themselves." -Booklist (starred review)

"[A] provocative, eclectic collection." -Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This collection brings together short, witchy stories from fifteen brilliant YA authors...It's a whole lot of magical fun, and a definite must-read for all the witches in your life." -Bustle