Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women & Witchcraft

Kate Hart (Author) Tehlor Kay Mejia (Author)
& 7 more
Available

Product Details

Price
$18.99  $17.47
Publisher
Harlequin Teen
Publish Date
August 28, 2018
Pages
416
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.3 X 1.4 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781335016270

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Kate Hart has worked as a teacher and grantwriter and currently builds treehouses. She is a blogger for YA Highway and hosts the Badass Ladies You Should Know series online. After the Fall is her first novel. She lives in northwest Arkansas.

TEHLOR KAY MEJIA is a bestselling and award winning author of young adult and middle grade fiction.

Her debut young adult novel, We Set the Dark on Fire, received six starred reviews, as well as the Oregon Spirit Book Award for debut fiction, and the Neukom Institute Literary Arts Award runner up honor for debut speculative fiction. It has been featured on Seventeen, Cosmopolitan, and O by Oprah Magazine's best books lists, and was a 2019 book of the year selection by Kirkus and School Library Journal. Its sequel, We Unleash the Merciless Storm, followed to continuing acclaim, while Miss Meteor (co-written with National Book Award Nominee Anna-Marie McLemore) was named to the American Library Association's 2021 Rainbow List, honoring outstanding contributions in LGBTQIA teen fiction.

Tehlor's debut middle grade novel, Paola Santiago and the River of Tears, was published by the Rick Riordan Presents imprint at Disney/Hyperion. It received four starred reviews, and was named Amazon's best book of 2020 in the 9-12 age range. It is currently in development at Disney as a television series to be produced by Eva Longoria.

Tehlor lives with her daughter, partner, and two small dogs in Oregon, where she grows heirloom corn and continues her quest to perfect the vegan tamale.

Tess Sharpe is the author of Barbed Wire Heart and the critically acclaimed young-adult novel Far from You. She is also the co-editor, along with Jessica Spotswood, of Toil & Trouble, a feminist young-adult anthology about witches.

Shveta Thakrar's debut novel, Star Daughter, is a standalone YA fantasy perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Laini Taylor, and Margaret Rogerson. Shveta's work has appeared in a number of magazines and anthologies, including Enchanted Living, Uncanny Magazine, and Toil & Trouble. You can find her online at www.shvetathakrar.com and on Twitter and Instagram at @ShvetaThakrar.

Brandy Colbert is the critically acclaimed author of the novels Pointe, The Voting Booth, Finding Yvonne, The Revolution of Birdie Randolph, The Only Black Girls in Town, and the Stonewall Award winner Little & Lion. A trained journalist, she also worked with boundary-breaking ballet dancer Misty Copeland to adapt her memoir into the bestselling book Life in Motion: Young Readers Edition. Born and raised in Springfield, Missouri, Brandy now lives and writes in Los Angeles and is on the faculty at Hamline University's MFA program for writing for children and young adults. You can find her online at www.brandycolbert.com.

Emery Lord is the author of Open Road Summer, The Start of Me and You, and When We Collided. She lives in a pink row house in Cincinnati, with a husband, two rescue dogs, and a closet full of impractical shoes. www.emerylord.comTwitter: @emerylord
Lindsay Smith lives in the South Island of New Zealand where he spends much of his time in the outdoors following his passion of fly fishing and hunting.
Brenna Yovanoff is the New York Times bestselling author of five young adult novels. She holds an MFA in Fiction from Colorado State University. She currently lives in Denver with her husband.
Jessica Spotswood lives in Washington, DC, with her husband and works as a children's library associate. Her novel Wild Swans was chosen for ALA's 2017 Amelia Bloomer List. Visit jessicaspotswood.com.

Reviews

"The tone of the stories range from breezy to devastating, the settings from historical to dystopian, the genres from romance to revenge fantasy....the collective impact is undeniably resounding." -Booklist (starred review)

"At the heart of each [story] is a girl (or girls) learning to discover her power...The collective impact is undeniably resounding, and the particularly strong back half will leave readers more than a little bewitched themselves." -Booklist (starred review)

"[A] provocative, eclectic collection." -Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This collection brings together short, witchy stories from fifteen brilliant YA authors...It's a whole lot of magical fun, and a definite must-read for all the witches in your life." -Bustle