Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia

Lina Maslo (Author)
Available

Description

A lyrical nonfiction picture book about the inspired life of C. S. Lewis, the beloved author of the Chronicles of Narnia--from Free as a Bird author-illustrator Lina Maslo. Perfect for fans of The Important Thing About Margaret Wise Brown and Some Writer : The Story of E.B. White.

As a child, Clive Staples Lewis imagined many things . . .

heroic animals

and knights in armor

and a faraway land called Boxen.

He even thought of a new name for himself--at four years old, he decided he was more of a Jack.

As he grew up, though, Jack found that the real world was not as just as the one in his imagination. No magic could heal the sick or stop a war, and a bully's words could pierce as sharply as a sword. So Jack withdrew into books and eventually became a well-known author for adults.

But he never forgot the epic tales of his boyhood, and one day a young girl's question about an old family wardrobe inspired him to write a children's story about a world hidden beyond its fur coats . . . a world of fauns and queens and a lion named Aslan. A world of battles between good and evil, where people learned courage and love and forgiveness.

A magical realm called Narnia.

And the books he would write about this kingdom would change his life and that of children the world over.

Share this magical nonfiction picture book at home or in the classroom.

--Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publish Date
May 19, 2020
Pages
48
Dimensions
7.8 X 0.4 X 11.7 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062798565

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Lina Maslo is the author and illustrator of Free as a Bird: The Story of Malala and Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia. She has a bachelor's degree in art from New College of Florida and resides in South Carolina with her husband and children. She can be found online at www.linamaslo.com.

Reviews

"As befitting the creator of the beloved Narnia books, this illustrated biography maintains the sense of a story unfolding, leading up to the moments when the iconic stories came to be....This engaging and affectionate re-creation of Lewis' life highlights resilience, creativity, and inspiration."--Kirkus Reviews
The bold, richly detailed illustrations, crafted with vibrant inks and acrylics, feature numerous gems Narnia fans will enjoy discovering.... A finely illustrated biography equally suited to research or pleasure reading."--School Library Journal
"A lushly colored look into Lewis's world, complementing the peaks and valleys of his creative and personal endeavors.... A heartening story, and a rich supplemental read for young Narnia fans."--Publishers Weekly