This Time Will Be Different

Misa Sugiura (Author) Joy Osmanski (Read by)
Available

Description

For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon, critically acclaimed author Misa Sugiura delivers a richly crafted contemporary YA novel about family, community, and the importance of writing your own history.

The author of the Asian Pacific American Award-winning It's Not Like It's a Secret is back with another smartly drawn coming-of-age novel that weaves riveting family drama, surprising humor, and delightful romance into a story that will draw you in from the very first page.

Katsuyamas never quit--but seventeen-year-old CJ doesn't even know where to start. She's never lived up to her mom's type A ambition, and she's perfectly happy just helping her aunt, Hannah, at their family's flower shop.

She doesn't buy into Hannah's romantic ideas about flowers and their hidden meanings, but when it comes to arranging the perfect bouquet, CJ discovers a knack she never knew she had. A skill she might even be proud of.

Then her mom decides to sell the shop--to the family who swindled CJ's grandparents when thousands of Japanese Americans were sent to internment camps during WWII. Soon a rift threatens to splinter CJ's family, friends, and their entire Northern California community; and for the first time, CJ has found something she wants to fight for.

Product Details

Price
$39.99
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
June 04, 2019
Dimensions
5.8 X 1.1 X 5.6 inches | 0.5 pounds
Language
English
Type
Compact Disc
EAN/UPC
9781982662905

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Misa Sugiura's ancestors include a poet, a priestess, a samurai, and a stowaway. Her first novel, It's Not Like It's a Secret, was the winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for YA Literature. Her second novel, This Time Will be Different, is the HarperCollins Children's Books Lead Read for Summer 2019. Misa lives under a giant oak tree in Silicon Valley with her husband, two sons, two cats, and a graybanded king snake. Visit her online at www.misasugiura.com.

Joy Osmanski, theater, television, and film actress, is an award-winning audiobook narrator who has won three AudioFile Earphones Awards. She graduated from Principia College with a degree in creative writing and received her MFA from UC San Diego.

Reviews

"Insightful. Intricate. Honest...Richly drawn characters that feel utterly real."

-- "Samira Ahmed, New York Times bestselling author"

"Sugiura's sophomore novel deftly questions accountability for past injustices...Sugiura tackles an abundance of topics with finesse, including social and economic injustice, allyship, and feminism, simultaneously breaking down the Asian-American immigration narrative and the myth of the model minority...Essential."

-- "Kirkus Reviews (starred review)"

"Sugiura's deep dive into mother-daughter relationships, the fragility of self-worth, and the gathering of courage resonates deeply."

-- "Booklist"

"Sugiura deftly weaves historical fact into this coming-of-age narrative...An entertaining and informative backdrop that allows CJ to explore her own sense of identity while giving readers a front seat to her process."

-- "Publishers Weekly (starred review)"

"A gripping, emotionally charged story that presents an interesting window into a uniquely Japanese American experience that deserves attention"

-- "School Library Journal (starred review)"