The Winter Guest (Original)

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
Mira Books
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.3 X 1.0 X 8.2 inches | 0.65 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780778315964
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Pam Jenoff was born in Maryland and raised outside Philadelphia. Upon receiving her masters in history from Cambridge, she accepted an appointment as Special Assistant to the Secretary of the Army. The position provided a unique opportunity to witness and participate in operations at the most senior levels of government, including helping the families of the Pan Am Flight 103 victims secure their memorial at Arlington National Cemetery, observing recovery efforts at the site of the Oklahoma City bombing and attending ceremonies to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of World War II at sites such as Bastogne and Corregidor.

Following her work at the Pentagon, Pam moved to the State Department. In 1996 she was assigned to the U.S. Consulate in Krakow, Poland. It was during this period that Pam developed her expertise in Polish-Jewish relations and the Holocaust. Working on matters such as preservation of Auschwitz and the restitution of Jewish property in Poland, Pam developed close relations with the surviving Jewish community.

Pam is the author of The Kommandant's Girl, which was an international bestseller and nominated for a Quill award, as well as The Winter Guest, The Diplomat's Wife, The Ambassador's Daughter, Almost Home, A Hidden Affair and The Things We Cherished. She also authored a short story in the anthology Grand Central: Original Postwar Stories of Love and Reunion. She lives outside Philadelphia with her husband and three children.

Reviews

"Woven with rich historical detail and heart-wrenching sensitivity, The Winter Guest explores the sacrifices and risks of twin sisters against the backdrop of World War II Poland. Jenoff brings to life the complexities of sisterhood, the strength of family, and the power of love. This is a novel not to be missed."-Alyson Richman, bestselling author of The Lost Wife

"The Winter Guest takes us to the darkest places in Poland during the Nazi regime, making the fear and horror real through twins Helena and Ruth, who face awful decisions to protect themselves, their orphaned family, and their own hearts. Atmospheric, tender, and as realistic as any Holocaust survivor testimony, The Winter Guest is a must-read." -Jenna Blum, New York Times bestselling author of Those Who Save Us

"Pam Jenoff has written a book that sweeps the reader into a whirlwind of love, tragedy, history and hope, and created an irresistible and unpredictable cast of characters whom you will not soon forget. I was thoroughly taken by it."-David Gillham, New York Times bestselling author of City of Women

"Fans of Kate Morton and Alyson Richman should reach for popular Jenoff's latest historical romance..."--Booklist

"...Eloquent...a tale of surprise betrayals, unquenchable desire, and a necessary awakening; Jenoff's thorough and elaborate descriptions of character and setting makes for a satisfying period romance."-Publishers Weekly on The Ambassador's Daughter

"Stirring...Historical romance fans will be well rewarded."-Publishers Weekly, starred review on The Diplomat's Wife

"With luminous simplicity, Jenoff's breathtaking debut chronicles the life of a young Jewish bride during the Nazi occupation of Krakow, Poland, in WWII...This is historical romance at its finest."-Publishers Weekly starred review on The Kommandant's Girl

"... In her moving first novel, Jenoff offers an insightful portrait of people forced into an untenable situation and succeeds in humanizing the unfathomable as well as the heroic."-Booklist

"I have not been so moved by a book in quite some time as I was by The Kommandant's Girl ...The remarkably accurate account of a world at war, and the repercussions of that war make this a brilliant debut novel...I could not put the book down, yet was sad to see it end."-Historical Romance Writers

"Successful and satisfying...[Jenoff] expertly draws out the tension and illustrates the danger and poverty of Eastern Europe as it falls under communism. Highly recommended for all fiction collections."-Library Journal