The Wicked Girls

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
1 other format in stock!

Product Details

Price
$16.00
Publisher
Penguin Books
Publish Date
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.57 X 8.2 X 0.81 inches | 0.01 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780143123866

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Alex Marwood is the pseudonym of a journalist who has worked extensively across the British press. Her first novel, The Wicked Girls, won the Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original, and was nominated for the Macavity Award for Best Mystery Novel and the Anthony and ITW Awards for Best Paperback Original. The Killer Next Door, her second novel, won a Macavity Award for Best Mystery Novel, was nominated for the Anthony and Barry, and has been optioned for film by James Franco and Ahna O'Reilly. Her third novel, The Darkest Secret, was published in 2016. Marwood lives in south London.

Reviews

"The suspense keeps the pages flying, but what sets this one apart is the palpable sense of onrushing doom."
--Stephen King, "The Best Books I Read This Year," Entertainment Weekly

"Harrowing. . . . While the received wisdom on violence committed by children seems to be that 'some people just are born evil, ' Marwood makes a strong case that these crimes are more likely rooted in poverty, abuse and parental abandonment."
--Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review

"The swirling mass of perceptions and happenings behind the main drama of Kirsty and Amber's past crime is what makes The Wicked Girls more than a plot-driven mystery novel. (Not that it isn't also that; Marwood sacrifices no speed, no engaging details or cliffhangers for the sake of the book's spiky undercurrent.)"
--The Rumpus

"In addition to being an excellent intelligent dark thriller in the vein of Gillian Flynn, The Wicked Girls presents an intriguing insider's account of salacious British tabloid journalism."
--BoingBoing

"[Alex] Marwood is equally at home with terrifying, potentially violent scenes and quieter ones revealing the tensions of work and family life. She is also adept at depicting the subtle and not so subtle ways differences in class shape the lives of the girls and the women they've become."
--Columbus Dispatch

"The pacing is whip-smart. . . . The Wicked Girls makes a compelling novel not easily forgotten."
--South Florida Sun Sentinel

"Riveting from first page to last. . . . A suspenseful, buzz-worthy novel."
--Kirkus (starred review)

"If Tana French and Gillian Flynn stayed up all night telling stories at an abandoned amusement park, this is awfully close to what they might come up with."
--Booklist (starred review)

"The Wicked Girls is ingenious and original--a novel that surprises and rewards its readers, delivering a twist of an ending that I never saw coming, then realized it was the only ending that could truly satisfy. Real, chilling, true to its world and its characters. In short, a knock-out."
--Laura Lippman, New York Times bestselling author of And When She Was Good and What the Dead Know

"The Wicked Girls is utterly compelling. It's psychologically rich, complex and masterfully plotted. I couldn't put it down, even when I sensed it was taking me somewhere very dark indeed. I can't wait to see what Alex Marwood comes up with next."
--Jojo Moyes, New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You and After You


s