The Way the World Works: Essays

Backorder

Product Details

Price
$17.00
Publisher
Simon & Schuster
Publish Date
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.06 X 8.78 X 0.82 inches | 0.01 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781416572480
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Nicholson Baker is the author of nine novels and four works of nonfiction, including Double Fold, which won a National Book Critics Circle Award, and House of Holes, a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. His work has appeared in The New Yorker, Harper's, and The New York Review of Books. He lives in Maine with his family.

Reviews

"Baker is one of the most beautiful, original and ingenious prose stylists to have come along in decades . . . and takes a kind of mad scientist's delight in the way things work and how the world is put together."--Charles McGrath "The New York Times Magazine "
"His prose is so luminescent and so precise it manually recalibrates our brains."--Lev Grossman "Time "
"Mr. Baker is a wise and amiable cultural commentator worth listening to. . . . [his] prose is polished, witty . . . his essays are always provocative and entertaining."--Cynthis Crossen "The Wall Street Journal "
"Nicholson Baker is such a swell, smart writer that he rarely - maybe never - tips his hand.... In Baker's view the mundane, closely enough observed, may be the skate key to the sublime."--Carolyn See "The Washington Post "
"[A] winning new book. . . . This singular writer . . . can mount an argument skillfully and deliver an efficient conclusive kick."--The San Francisco Chronicle
"A fundamentally radical author . . . you can never be sure quite where Baker is going to take you. . . . [He] is an essayist in the tradition of GK Chesterton and Max Beerbohm, writing winning fantasies upon whatever chance thoughts may come into his head."--Financial Times (London)
"What these works share is a sense that how we think, our idiosyncratic dance with both experience and memory, defines who we are."--The Los Angeles Times
"Baker looks at the world around us in a way that is not only artful and entertaining but instructive."--Charleston Post & Courier
"Baker's new essay collection, The Way the World Works, is always absorbing, merging his interest in solid, tangible objects with his devotion to the life of the mind. . . . simply dazzling."--Seattle Times
"Exhilarating . . . Eye-opening . . . Baker continues his project of bringing new dimensions and idiosyncrasies to the personal essay, which he is devoted to reviving and reinventing."--The Boston Globe
"If only more of the literary world worked the way Baker does. . . . You cannot deny the courage of the writer. . . . Baker is singular."--The Buffalo News