The Water Age Children's Art & Writing Workshops

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$8.99  $8.27
Publisher
Meanda Books
Publish Date
Pages
52
Dimensions
5.83 X 0.14 X 8.27 inches | 0.21 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780995490253
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Tracey Warr is a fiction and non-fiction writer. She describes herself as writing in the vicinity of art. She was a senior university lecturer including posts at Darlington College of Arts, Oxford Brookes University and Bauhaus University. She has led many art and creative writing workshops in Europe and the US. Her historical novels, set in France, England and Wales, are published by Impress Books: Almodis the Peaceweaver (2011), The Viking Hostage (2014), Conquest I: Daughter of the Last King (2016) and Conquest II: The Drowned Court (2017). www.impress-books.co.uk. Her fiction has received awards from Literature Wales and Santander and was shortlisted for the Impress Prize. Her published work on contemporary art includes The Artist's Body (Phaidon, 2000), Remote Performances in Nature and Architecture (Routledge, 2015) and The Midden (Garret, 2018). She is currently working on a biography entitled Three Female Lords, about three sisters who lived in southern France and northern Spain in the 11th century. The biography has been supported by an Authors' Foundation Award. traceywarrwriting.com

Reviews

On Tracey Warr's published fiction:

'Enjoyable futuristic tale about an exoplanet composed mostly of water and populated by human-like beings. A spaceship lands, looking for candidate planets to colonise, since Earth has become irrevocably polluted. A grim warning of what could happen in reality. I liked the description of the planetary beings' rather solitary society and their approach to decision-making and democracy.' Goodreads

'Wonderful thought provoking story with descriptions that immerse you in the water' Amazon

'I could not put this book down from the moment I started it. I practically inhaled the content.' Poppy Coburn

'machiavellious plotting .... human chess played with lives and land' The Bookbag

'I would thoroughly recommend this book, which immerses the reader so deeply in its world.' Historical Novels Review

'Historical fiction at its very best....rich in sensory detail.' Goodreads

'I was gripped from the start ... a richly detailed and compelling read. I couldn't put this novel down, and finished it in 2 days. Highly recommended.' Goodreads

'A wonderful novel brilliantly researched and told in a fantastic page turning style... it will appeal to fans of Carol McGrath, Joanna Courtney and Patricia Bracewell.' Lisa Reads Books

'Recommended if you're a fan of Poldark, Outlander, Philippa Gregory...' What.i.read

'Tracey Warr manages to bring forgotten, historical characters to life with such vivacity... [with] impeccably well researched history and well-conjured settings, Conquest makes for one engrossing historical read... [in] a similar writing style to Diana Gabaldon.' Cosy Reads

'If you are a fan of Game of Thrones and the Borgias, especially the female characters and their perspective, then you'll enjoy this book, which really deserves its own tv series ... Warr has an intelligent wit and ability to bring the historical conditions of women to life through vivid storytelling.' Amazon

'The characters are just alive as you read. Couldn't put it down!' Amazon

'This book accompanies me everywhere, and I am transported into the world of the characters, the smells, the views, the feelings ... it pulls you into the time and world of the book. I can't rave about this book enough, read it, you won't be disappointed.' Goodreads

'I read the book over a couple of days when I really should have been doing something else.' The Book Bag

'5* Oh now THIS was delightful. Warr manages a really believable level of daily-life detail ... A+, would read again.' Good Reads

'I finished the book in two late-night sittings because I didn't want to stop reading .... this is serious entertainment.' A Corner of Tenth Century Europe

'5 Stars. This was an amazing book on many levels for me and I was indeed sorry for it to end.' Reading the Ages