The Traitor Baru Cormorant

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.98  $15.62
Publisher
Tor Books
Publish Date
Pages
400
Dimensions
6.0 X 9.1 X 1.2 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780765380739

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

SETH DICKINSON is the author of the Baru Cormorant novels and many short stories, as well as much of the lore and backstory of Bungie Studios' Destiny. He lives in New York City.

Reviews

"A fascinating tale of political intrigue and national unrest." - The Washington Post

"Literally breathtaking....Baru Cormorant as a character is magnificent. I found it impossible not to root for her even amid horrors of her making, to grieve with her and for her at various points, to clench my fists in her defense and in desperate need for her to stay whole. There is so much to admire and so much to mourn throughout the building tragedy of this novel....A crucial, necessary book -- a book that looks unflinchingly into the self-replicating virus of empire, asks the hardest questions, and dares to answer them." - NPR.org

"A breathtaking contender with George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones. Perfect for those who thrive on fantasy with Machiavellian overtones, this labyrinthine story starts off a wee bit slow but soon enough sets you on the path toward a high-stakes clash you're almost afraid to reach." - Omnivoracious

"Dickinson's dense, chewy, deftly orchestrated narrative cleverly exploits fiat money and debt as tools of statecraft.... A highly impressive debut that engages intellectually." - Kirkus Reviews

"This is an accomplished debut, with a heroine whose motives are murky, seemingly even to herself. The twists and turns our unreliable narrator takes as she pushes the Aurdwynn nobles to rebel reveal her goals yet also expose her loneliness. We've only seen a fraction of the world of the Masquerade and a glimpse of Baru's plans, setting the stage for a compelling series." --Library Journal, starred review

"Dickinson's debut, the start of a trilogy set in an impressively well-crafted fantasy world, is assured and impressive....Readers will share every one of Baru's strong, suppressed emotions. Dickinson's worldbuilding is ambitious and his language deviously subtle; both are seductive in their complexity. He combines social engineering, economic trickery, and coldhearted pseudoscientific theories to weave a compelling, utterly surprising narrative that keeps readers guessing until the end." -Publishers Weekly, starred review

s