The Theft of Sunlight

Available

Product Details

Price
$18.99  $17.66
Publisher
Harperteen
Publish Date
Pages
528
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.2 X 1.9 inches | 1.25 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062835741

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Intisar Khanani grew up a nomad and world traveler. Born in Wisconsin, she has lived in five different states as well as in Jeddah on the coast of the Red Sea. She first remembers seeing snow on a wintry street in Zurich, Switzerland, and vaguely recollects having breakfast with the orangutans at the Singapore Zoo when she was five. She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio, with her husband and two young daughters.

Intisar is also the author of Thorn. To find out what she is working on next and connect with her online, visit www.booksbyintisar.com.

Reviews

Praise for Intisar Khanani's THORN: "Set in a dark and dangerous world...well-written and dramatically told, teens will find much to love in a novel in which the princess grows to become a force to be reckoned with."--School Library Journal (starred review)
"Khanani beautifully crafts Alyrra's quiet but clear journey of self-definition... [Thorn] is sure to appeal to fans of Carson's The Girl of Fire and Thorns and Ahdieh's The Wrath and the Dawn."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)
"Thorn is a lovely atmospheric fairytale fantasy about a girl and her found family. I loved it!"--Gail Carriger, New York Times-bestselling author of the Parasol Protectorate and Finishing School series
"Lush and vividly imagined, THORN takes a folktale we think we know and turns it into something new: a story of and for our time, with lessons that will remain with readers long after they have finished the last, glorious pages."

--G. Willow Wilson, author of The Bird King
Deeply engaging and piercing. An illustration that courage and strength can be found in unexpected places and in unexpected people. Amraeya's refusal to give up even when all the odds are stacked against her will inspire many, many readers.--Nafiza Azad, author of The Candle and the Flame
"Immersive and captivating...[will] draw in fans of fantasy and slow-burn romance."--Kirkus Reviews
Khanani's Thorn explores themes of resilience, responsibility, and identity in a darkly captivating retelling that is more than the sum of its parts. This is the kind of book that digs under your skin and makes a home, demanding reflection and frequent re-reads." --Tracy Banghart, author of Grace and Fury
A quietly profound and beautiful fairytale retelling that I'll be recommending for years.-- S. A. Chakraborty, author of City of Brass
A vivid retelling of a classic tale, full of love, justice, and empathy. --Emily B Martin, author of the Creatures of Light series
"A vivid masterpiece with some chilling parallels to the unseen battles fought in our present day and a striking heroine who has a fierce passion for justice." --Nadine Brandes, author of ROMANOV and FAWKES
"Khanani deftly navigates heavy themes while spinning an investigative tale packed with action, excellent banter, and court intrigue."--Sarah Henning, author of THE PRINCESS WILL SAVE YOU and the SEA WITCH duology
"Khanani returns to Menaiya to expand the first volume's worldbuilding while maintaining a depth of political and magical intrigue, developing heart-wrenchingly emotional characters, and adding hints of romance... A beautifully written, fantastical page-turner." --Kirkus Reviews
"Political intrigue, child slavery, societal inequities, and physical infirmities are all explored in this quick-paced read by the author of Thorn." --School Library Journal