The Story of Seeds: Our Food Is in Crisis. What Will You Do to Protect It?

Nancy Castaldo (Author)
Available

Description

Something as small as a seed can have a world-wide impact. As the world becomes more aware of the threats climate change, genetic modification, and deforestation have on the longevity of our natural resources, young readers must rally to preserve our food and world. Readers of Michael Pollan will thoroughly enjoy the depth and fascinatingly intricate social economy of seeds.

Product Details

Price
$10.99  $10.11
Publisher
Houghton Mifflin
Publish Date
January 14, 2020
Pages
144
Dimensions
5.5 X 0.4 X 7.9 inches | 0.55 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780358120179

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Nancy Castaldo is the author of several nonfiction books for children, including Sniffer Dogs: How Dogs (and Their Noses) Save the World, Deserts, Rainforests, and River Wild. She lives in New York's Hudson Valley with her family.
www.nancycastaldo.com
Twitter: @NCastaldoAuthor
Instagram: @naturespeak

Reviews

National Science Teachers Association 2017 Top Science Trade Books for K-12 Students
Nerdy Book Club Nerdies 2016 Longform Nonfiction
Nonfiction Detectives: Best of 2016
Northland College Young Adult Notable Book
Green Earth Book Award - YA Nonfiction 2017
Sigurd F. Olson Nature Writing Notable book

* "A terrific, engrossing resource." --Booklist, STARRED review

"This eye-opening book on the science and politics of agriculture serves as a wake-up call to readers about the fragility of something many of us take for granted: our plant-based food supply. Castaldo clearly lays out a case for the importance of plant diversity ("Seeds equal life"), presenting engaging scientific and historical information..." --Horn Book Magazine

"A topical blend of history, ecology, and social science, written in the tradition of Michael Pollan's The Omnivore's Dilemma, Castaldo (Sniffer Dogs) explains how seeds are fundamentally important to survival on Earth." - Publisher's Weekly

"An impassioned call to action..." --School Library Journal

"Castaldo delivers a sobering global status report--and a call to action...Well-crafted and inspiring."--Kirkus