The Story I Want to Tell: Explorations in the Art of Writing

(Editor) (Contribution by)
& 8 more
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Tilbury House Publishers
Publish Date
5.9 X 0.7 X 8.9 inches | 0.65 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

The Telling Room is a nonprofit writing center in Portland, Maine, dedicated to the idea that children and young adults are natural storytellers.

JONATHAN LETHEM is the author of several novels, including Motherless Brooklyn; The Fortress of Solitude;Gun, with Occasional Music; and Dissident Gardens.

Bill Roorbach is the author of five previous books of fiction, including The Girl of the Lake, the Kirkus Prize finalist The Remedy for Love, the bestselling Life Among Giants, and the Flannery O'Connor Award-winning collection Big Bend. His memoir in nature, Temple Stream, won the Maine Literary Award in nonfiction. Roorbach has received fellowships from the Civitella Ranieri Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts. He held the William H. P. Jenks Chair in Contemporary American Letters at the College of the Holy Cross in Worcester, Massachusetts. His craft book, Writing Life Stories, has been in print for twenty-five years. His writing has appeared in Harper's, the New York Times Magazine, the Atlantic, Ploughshares, Granta, Ecotone, New York magazine, and other publications. He lives in Maine with his family.
Ann Beattie has been included in four O. Henry Award Collections, in John Updike's The Best American Short Stories of the Century, and in Jennifer Egan's The Best American Short Stories 2014. In 2000, she received the PEN/Malamud Award for achievement in the short story. In 2005, she received the Rea Award for the Short Story. She was the Edgar Allan Poe Professor of Literature and Creative Writing at the University of Virginia. She is a member of The American Academy of Arts and Letters and of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She and her husband, Lincoln Perry, live in Maine and Key West, Florida.
MONICA WOOD is the author of When We Were the Kennedys: A Memoir from Mexico, Maine and of the novel Any Bitter Thing, a national bestseller and Book Sense Top Ten pick. Her other fiction includes Ernie's Ark and My Only Story, a finalist for the Kate Chopin Award. Her writing has appeared in O, The Oprah Magazine, New York Times, Martha Stewart Living, Parade, and many other publications. Wood lives in Portland, Maine.

DAVE EGGERS is the editor of McSweeney's and a cofounder of 826 National, a network of nonprofit writing and tutoring centers for youth, located in seven cities across the United States. He is the author of four books, including What Is the What and How We Are Hungry.

Richard Blanco, the 2013 inaugural poet, was made in Cuba, assembled in Spain, and imported to the United States--meaning that his mother, seven months pregnant, and the rest of the family arrived as exiles from Cuba to Madrid where he was born in 1968, before they emigrated to the United States, settling in Miami. Blanco is the author of four previous poetry collections including, most recently, Looking for the Gulf Motel, and is the winner of the PEN/Beyond Margins Award. He lives in Bethel, Maine.


I had a blast working on this book. Where do I sign up for the next one?--Richard Russo
Connecting with a young fellow writer made me obey the single most important rule of creativity: always begin again.--Jaed Coffin
I've had such joy working with The Telling Room--they are such a wonderful resource for talented young readers and writers from all over the world. It was a delight to be part of this project.--Elizabeth Gilbert
The Story I Want to Tell is a powerful and riveting anthology. The student stories and poems--some by young immigrants from places as diverse and far away as Iraq and Sudan, and others by kids from around the block--are intensely moving, original, and beautiful, and they all share a raw urgency whose power is augmented by the apt, personal, sensitive responses of the older, more acclaimed writers they're paired with. These twinnings of younger and older writers, a call and response, accrue a mesmerizing storytelling rhythm that made me wish the book were twice as long.--Kate Christensen, author, The Epicure's Lament and The Great Man (PEN/Faulkner Award)