The Someday Suitcase

Corey Ann Haydu (Author)
Available

Description

Readers who loved The Thing About Jellyfish and Goodbye Stranger will find a mysterious magic and unforgettable friendship in The Someday Suitcase, from the critically acclaimed author of Rules for Stealing Stars. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

A Bank Street Books Best Children's Book of 2018

Clover and Danny are the kind of best friends who make each other even better. They're so important to each other that Clover believes they're symbiotic: her favorite science word, which describes two beings who can't function without the other.

But when Danny comes down with a mysterious illness that won't go away, the doctors can't figure out what's wrong with him. So Clover decides to take matters into her own hands by making lists--list of Danny's symptoms, his good days, his bad days.

As the evidence piles up, only one thing becomes clear: Danny is only better when Clover is around.

Suddenly it feels like time is running out for Clover and Danny to do everything they've planned together--to finally see snow, to go on a trip with the suitcase they picked out together. Will science be able to save Danny, or is this the one time when magic can overcome the unthinkable?

Product Details

Price
$7.99
Publisher
Katherine Tegen Books
Publish Date
March 02, 2020
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.1 X 0.7 X 7.5 inches | 0.45 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062352767

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Corey Ann Haydu is the author of Eventown, The Someday Suitcase, and Rules for Stealing Stars and four acclaimed books for teens. She grew up in the Boston area, earned her MFA at the New School, and now lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her dog Oscar. Find out more at www.coreyannhaydu.com.

Reviews

β˜… "Haydu's second middle-grade novel is poignant and powerful. A heartbreaking story about the healing power of friendship amid human fragility."--Booklist (starred review)
"Haydu does not shield readers from hard truths, creating complex characters who face difficult situations. This sensitive work will strike an emotional chord with middle-graders."--School Library Journal
"A touch of magic, the promise of snow, and so much love I can barely keep it together to write this sentence. I know Clover and Danny will stick with me for a long, long time."--Kate Milford, New York Times bestselling author of The Greenglass House
"Beautiful, true, and magical. This book touched my heart."--Lauren Myracle, author the Wishing Day series
β˜… "Quietly superb prose...Haydu doesn't romanticize illness, but she provides comfort through art, science, magic, love, and a purple suitcase. A sharp, clear-cut piece that knows life is beautiful and sickness isn't."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
β˜… "In this moving, exquisitely written story, Corey Ann Haydu explores the thin line between science and magic within an intense bond of friendship."--Shelf Awareness, starred review