The Society of Shame

(Author)
Pre-Order   Ships Apr 04, 2023

Product Details

Price
$28.00  $26.04
Publisher
Anchor Books
Publish Date
Pages
368
Dimensions
6.13 X 9.25 X 0.97 inches | 1.43 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780593468760

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

JANE ROPER is the author of two previous books: a memoir, Double Time, and a novel, Eden Lake. Her short fiction, essays, and humor have appeared in publications including McSweeney's Internet Tendency, The Millions, The Rumpus, Salon, and Poets & Writers and on NPR. Jane is a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop and lives in the Boston area with her husband and two children.

Reviews

Fans of Where'd You Go Bernadette and Dietland are sure to love The Society of Shame. This down-to-earth, biting, cinematic, and funny novel perfectly captures the many absurdities of our modern age and the indignities of middle age for women. With intelligence and a satirical eye for the just right detail, Roper lays bare the dangers of public scrutiny and leaves readers laughing, cringing, and nodding all at once. --Heidi Pitlor, author of Impersonation and The Daylight Marriage, Series Editor of Best American Short Stories

"The Society of Shame is like Tom Wolfe and David Sedaris had a baby and it was female. I read an advance draft of this novel in the 'Before Times, ' on a pre-pandemic plane, and I was worried I was going to get ejected because I was HOWLING with laughter on every page. This is the book we NEED right now: not only because it's absofreakinglutely hilarious, not only because it makes trenchant points about cancel culture, not only because it's for women by a woman--but because it's zany and zeitgeisty and, like all exquisite satire, it reflects us back to ourselves in a way that raises questions--and possible solutions. YOU NEED THIS BOOK." --Jenna Blum, New York Times bestselling author of Those Who Save Us and The Lost Family

Jane Roper has written the kind of novel that women will buy for each other, read together, and savor. A hilarious, fleet-footed romp that skewers contemporary culture, marriage, politics, and more even as it reveals the fears and desires that so often pit us against each other and ourselves, The Society of Shame made me laugh, wince, and think at every turn. I loved this book. --Anna Solomon, author of The Book of V and The Little Bride