The Secret Keeper: A Novel of Kateryn Parr

Sandra Byrd (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$21.99
Publisher
Howard Books
Publish Date
June 05, 2012
Pages
331
Dimensions
5.58 X 0.84 X 8.5 inches | 0.65 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781439183144
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Sandra Byrd has published more than three dozen books in the Christian fiction and nonfiction market, including her series for adults, French Twist, which includes the Christy finalist Let Them Eat Cake.

Reviews

"Juliana's character as the main protagonist is both surprisingly fresh and perfectly presented. There is much more to her than a lady's maid, and finding out her secrets as the story unfolds is a great pleasure. Unlike many novels of this kind -- which portray a fictional character in the lead -- this one works very well. A female's place in society is expanded upon, but not so much as to become monotonous and spoil the historical theme."--Historical Novel Society
"Rich in historical detail, full of intrigue, and starring a memorable heroine--Juliana St. John--who grows in both character and faith, Sandra Byrd's The Secret Keeper kept me completely engrossed in the tumultuous court of Henry VIII. I felt a part of the times, thanks to the author's skillful storytelling, vivid descriptions, and inspiring characters. Readers are in for a special treat with this remarkable novel."--Francine Rivers, New York Times bestselling author
"'How do I love thee? Let me count the ways, ' wrote Elizabeth Barrett Browning long years after the Tudor period of Sandra Byrd's remarkable book, The Secret Keeper. But the poet's words come to mind often as I count the myriad ways I love this story. Exquisite attention to detail of time, language, and place. A deft creation of character voice that invites the reader in and never lets her go. A delicate suspense that keeps pages turning. And throughout, the evidence of a remarkable storyteller who moves emotions in ways that both inspire and satisfy. I fell in love with Juliana St. John and with her heart, and hope she and her secrets find the widest possible audience."--Jane Kirkpatrick, New York Times bestselling author of Where Lilacs Still Bloom
"The Secret Keeper is a beautifully crafted story of heartache, love and loyalty. The reader is gifted with glimpses into the lives of many of the key characters of that day: Kateryn Parr, Thomas Seymour, and the young Elizabeth Tudor. The heroine's secrets are compelling, but the biggest secret others have kept from her changes her life. However, it is no secret that Sandra Byrd writes compelling fiction on women's trials and triumphs. Enjoy, but keep a handkerchief nearby."--Karen Harper, New York Times bestselling author of Mistress of Mourning
"A young woman with the gift of prophecy becomes entangled in Henry VIII's court in this engaging novel. [. . .] Byrd (To Die For) crafts a well-researched historical novel that engrosses readers in Juliana's world and the juicy details of the Tudor court. [. . .] Anglophiles and history buffs alike will surely enjoy this bird's-eye view into royal politics, love, and scandal."--Publishers Weekly
"The Secret Keeper emulates the fast-paced tension of a great romantic suspense novel but relies entirely upon court intrigue to accomplish that pulse-pounding feat. Anchored by the proper but down-to-earth voice of Juliana St. John, the reader remains lip-bitingly engaged in the story and its characters even through the most mundane activities in which they take part. [...] Like its predecessor, The Secret Keeper illumines roles the royals played in the ebb and flow of the English Reformation Movement, but does so in such a suspenseful, romantic fashion that the reader is every bit as entertained as she is educated. [...] I'd be willing to wager that, come December, The Secret Keeper will find a firm ranking on many bloggers' Best Books of 2012 lists -- including mine. The Secret Keeper is simply superb. It grabbed me from the start and never let go. [...] Even readers who shy away from the well-researched historical will get wrapped up in the Tudor trickery and lovely romance within this story. Byrd's tightly woven plot is laced with ever-splicing threads of intrigue that worm their way into your imagination and all but tie the book to your hands. Read it!"--USA Today
"Atmospheric, dramatic and full of twists, this second title in Byrd's 'Ladies in Waiting' series (after To Die For) is a sure bet for fans of Deborah Vogts and Tudor fiction."--Library Journal