The Royal Nonesuch: Or, What Will I Do When I Grow Up?

Glasgow Phillips (Author)
Available

Description

Glasgow Phillips published his debut novel Tuscaloosa at the tender age of twenty-four. The results were disastrous: encouraging reviews, translations, a paperback sale, a film option, and a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford. But over the next two years, as Phillips's second novel unraveled and freelance journalism assignments ended in humiliation, a horrible, secret thought took hold in him: perhaps, just possibly, whatever talent he had was of the kind that would never be more than promise.
Washed up as a "real" writer before he was thirty, Phillips went to Los Angeles and formed a company with his best childhood friend Jason McHugh, independent producer of Cannibal! The Musical and Orgazmo. The Royal Nonesuch is the story of Phillips's rollercoaster ride through the twisted world of underground Hollywood and the funhouse of the Internet during the boom. Phillips builds a hilarious and poignant memoir, in the tradition of Augusten Burroughs and Sean Wilsey, from tales of promise and failure, family and madness, friendship and redemption, fame and infamy, and good old-fashioned hustling. It is a remarkable book; a brilliant portrait of a generation in all its foolish glory.

Product Details

Price
$14.00  $12.88
Publisher
Grove Press, Black Cat
Publish Date
February 21, 2007
Pages
374
Dimensions
5.68 X 1.05 X 8.16 inches | 0.94 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780802170286
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

Reviews

"Hollywood drops the soap and Glasgow Phillips scores a bull's-eye in this hilarious and frighteningly accurate memoir about coming-of-age on the gamy side of Tinseltown." -- Mark Haskell
"This is the best book I've read about being in your twenties and trying to figure out what to do with your life, and that's not just because I'm in it. Something this funny shouldn't also be this profound; after laughing, crying, and cheering the cast, all I wanted was a bigger part." -- Matt Stone
"The Royal Nonesuch hits so close to home that laughing at Mr. Phillips and laughing at yourself are often one and the same. Occasionally gut-wrenching, often hysterical, and always illuminating, Mr. Phillips's prose remains remarkably assured throughout. Even when his life choices are, well, not." -- Neel Shah
"This is the book you're looking for. It's inspiring, intelligent, funny, honest, and a triumph over evil. I usually can't get past page 10 in a memoir, but The Royal Nonesuch had me from the start and never let me down. Glasgow Phillips is the real deal, a badass who actually knows how to write." -- Arthur Bradford
"Glasgow Phillips has harnessed vast observational and comedic talents for the purpose of waste, waste, and thrice waste--till now! The Royal Nonesuch is both a self-reckoning and a generational one, and Phillips fills this ridiculous, entertaining, crazy-ass morality tale with proof that he's a fancy pants literary type after all. Hooray!" -- Sean Wilsey
"The Royal Nonesuch is very funny, far too real for comfort, and even, finally, life-affirming. To borrow a phrase from Mr. Phillips, reading this book is like getting kicked in the clams with a clown shoe. You double over, not sure whether you're laughing or crying, and then you want to kick the clown back, in the clams. That course of action won't be available to all readers, but I have Mr. Phillips's address, and I'm on my way now to the clown she store." -- Dave Eggers