The Rose Garden

Susanna Kearsley (Author)
Available

Description

A New York Times and USA Today Bestseller!

"I've loved every one of Susanna's books! She has bedrock research and a butterfly's delicate touch with characters--sure recipe for historical fiction that sucks you in and won't let go!"-- DIANA GABALDON, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Outlander

A journey through time and a story of love, The Rose Garden tells the story of a modern woman thrown back three centuries only to find that might just be where she belongs.

After the death of her sister, Eva Ward leaves Hollywood behind to return to the only place she feels she truly belongs, the old house on the coast of Cornwall, England. She's seeking comfort in memories of childhood summers, but what she finds is mysterious voices and hidden pathways that sweep her not only into the past, but also into the arms of a man who is not of her time. But Eva soon discovers that the man, Daniel Butler, is very, very real and is thrown into a world of intrigue, treason, and love.

Inside the old house, Eva must confront her own ghosts, as well as those of long ago. And as she begins to question her place in the present, she realizes she must decide where she really belongs: in the life she knows or the past she feels so drawn towards.

Other bestselling books by Susanna Kearsley:
The Winter Sea
A Desperate Fortune
The Firebird

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
Sourcebooks Landmark
Publish Date
October 04, 2011
Pages
441
Dimensions
5.2 X 1.2 X 7.9 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781402258589
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Susanna Kearsley's writing has been compared to Mary Stewart, Daphne du Maurier, and Diana Gabaldon. Her books have been translated into several languages, selected for the Mystery Guild, condensed for Reader's Digest, and optioned for film. She lives in Canada, near the shores of Lake Ontario.

Reviews

"Kearsley masterfully writes authentic voices for Eva and Daniel as they wrestle with their improbable connection and its implications" - Publishers Weekly
"Like Anya Seton's Green Darkness and Daphne du Maurier's House on the Strand, Kearsley brilliantly brings together past and present. 4 1/2 Stars, Top Pick of the Month" - RT Book Reviews
"Kearsley makes the impossible seem real as she weaves a tale full of genuine characters and a strong sense of place and makes history come alive." - Booklist
"A sympathetic woman becomes the heroine of her own fate, both past and present, in this winning romance." - Kirkus
"Susanna Kearsley's The Rose Garden is an enthralling and achingly romantic read. Top Pick in Romance." - BookPage
"Susanna Kearsley's latest is an imaginatively captivating trip through time. I found complete hours swallowed whole as I devoured THE ROSE GARDEN." - Fresh Fiction
"Canadian author Susanna Kearsley's time-travel books have always enthralled me, and The Rose Garden is no exception." - Historical Novels Review
" I highly, highly recommend The Rose Garden (and Kearsley in general, but this is an excellent place to start) to anyone who enjoys a good story with a vivid setting and memorable characters. And if you're in need of a well-written comfort read, run to your library or bookstore to get your hands on a copy!" - A Striped Arm Chair
"I'm sure I'll be reading more books by Susanna Kearsley soon - I just need to decide which one to try next!" - She Reads Novels
"This will be going on my top 10 books for sure and I'm keeping my copy to read again!!" - Life in the Thumb
"Overall, The Rose Garden was a wonderfully imaginative tale with true love, time travel, and a fascinating setting." - Laura's Reviews
"It's very romantic in a kind of restrained way and unending sense of longing. Beautifully written, The Rose Garden is recommended for fans of The Time Traveler's Wife, Rebecca, and historical fiction." - The Book Harbinger
"If you're in the mood for a story with a strong sense of place, a cast of wonderful characters, a plot with surprises, time travel and romance, I have just one piece of advice: Seek out The Rose Garden, and when you're done reading it, seek out the rest of Susanna Kearsley's novels." - Kittling: Books
"Kearsley fans will love this to bits" - At Home with A Good Book and the Cat
"It seems I've gotten into the habit of saying this for this author's work; The Rose Garden, by Susanna Kearsley is a must read. And as they say, there's no time like the present...." - Bookishly Attentive
"Overall a magical and heart-moving romance which should appeal to everyone loving romances." - Endlessly Bookish
"if you want a well-written, rich romance with a strong, mature heroine, The Rose Garden is strongly recommended." - The Romance Reader
"There's excitement, adventure, tragedy & romance in The Rose Garden, it's a compelling read." - I Prefer Reading
"So I invite you to come along to a special rose garden on the coast of Cornwall where you never know what might happen. At the least you will have a delightful reading experience lost in the magical world Susanna Kearsley creates." - The Broken Teepee
"I give it five stars!!!" - Celtic Lady's Reviews
"If you are a fan of Susanna Kearsley's novels, then you already know what to expect in The Rose Garden... lyrical writing... vivid images of nature and the landscape...historical settings... characters that you come to know and really care about...time travel that changes seamlessly from one frame to the next...and a breathtaking and poignant ending. The Rose Garden is no exception." - Books, Belles & Beaux