The Right Sort of Man

Allison Montclair (Author) Sarah Nichols (Read by)
Backorder

Description

First comes love, then comes murder.

In a London slowly recovering from the ravages of World War II, two very different women join forces to launch a business venture in the heart of Mayfair―The Right Sort Marriage Bureau. Miss Iris Sparks, avuncular and unmarried, and Mrs. Gwendolyn Bainbridge, practical and widowed with a young son, are determined to achieve some independence and do some good in a rapidly changing world.

But the promising start to their marriage bureau is threatened when their newest client, Tillie La Salle, is found murdered and the man arrested for the crime is one Dickie Trower, the prospective husband they matched her with. While the police are convinced they have their man, Miss Sparks and Mrs. Bainbridge are not. To clear Trower's name―and to rescue their fledging operation's reputation―Sparks and Bainbridge decide to investigate on their own, using the skills and contacts they've each acquired through life and their individual adventures during the recent war.

In this charming, compelling mystery, Allison Montclair blends meticulous research with two brilliantly imagined main characters into the first in a wonderful new series.

Product Details

Price
$29.95
Publisher
Blackstone Publishing
Publish Date
June 04, 2019
Dimensions
5.3 X 0.7 X 6.7 inches | 0.15 pounds
Language
English
Type
MP3 CD
EAN/UPC
9781982636500

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

ALLISON MONTCLAIR grew up devouring hand-me-down Agatha Christie paperbacks and James Bond movies. As a result of this deplorable upbringing, Montclair became addicted to tales of crime, intrigue, and espionage. She now spends her spare time poking through the corners, nooks, and crannies of history, searching for the odd mysterious bits and transforming them into novels of her own. The Right Sort of Man is her debut novel.

Reviews

"The Right Sort of Man is the right sort of book! I loved every minute of this delightful adventure with two thoroughly modern women fighting for a place in a rapidly changing world. Can't wait for the next installment!"

-- "Victoria Thompson, author of Murder on Trinity Place"

[A] delightful adventure with two thoroughly modern women fighting for a place in a rapidly changing world. Can't wait for the next installment!"

-- "Victoria Thompson, author of Murder on Union Square"

"Utterly fabulous! Vivid historical detail, gorgeous prose, and witty, unforgettable characters all combine to make The Right Sort of Man one of the best books I've read this year."

-- "Anna Lee Huber, author of the Lady Darby Mysteries"

"A delightful immersion in the period and personalities, with that touch of depth that transforms a good series to a great one."

-- "Laurie R. King, New York Times bestselling author"

"Rarely have I seen a novel that manages to be so charming and so substantial at the same time. The Right Sort of Man does more than nail post-WWII London in pitch-perfect setting and language--it introduces a female dynamic duo with whom I very quickly fell in love. The end of this book left me with a single thought: when can I read the next Iris and Gwen adventure?"

-- "Lyndsay Faye, author of The Gods of Gotham"

"The Right Sort of Man Marriage Bureau's debut is exactly the right sort to have readers hoping for a second date!

-- "Kirkus Reviews (starred review)"

"Fans of M. C. Beaton will relish the wit, and followers of Susan Elia MacNeal and Jacqueline Winspear will enjoy the depth and the period detail. Readers will want to get on the reserve list for the next Iris and Gwen adventure!"

-- "Booklist"

"Full of heart, astute, and darkly comic, The Right Sort of Man is a keenly observed historical mystery."

-- "Cara Black, New York Times bestselling author"

"Both leads are complex, well-developed characters, whose penchant for humorous byplay never comes at the expense of the plot, which resolves itself in a clever fair play reveal. Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford will be delighted."

-- "Publishers Weekly (starred review)"