The Red Sun

(Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$17.00  $15.64
Publisher
Sparkpress
Publish Date
Pages
346
Dimensions
6.0 X 9.0 X 1.2 inches | 1.15 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781940716244

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Alane Adams is an author, professor, and literacy advocate. She is the author of the Legends of Orkney fantasy mythology series for tweens and The Coal Thief, a picture book for early-grade readers. She lives in Southern California.

Reviews

2017 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards Gold Medal, Best Book Series - Chapter Book 2016 International Book Awards Fiction: Young Adult Finalist 2015 USA Best Book Awards Best Cover Design: Fiction, Winner 2015 USA Best Book Awards Children's Fiction, Winner Beverly Hills Book Award Best Juvenile Fiction, Winner BPA Benjamin Franklin Awards Best New Voice Children's/Young Adult, Silver Medal Readers Favorite Awards Children Preteen Silver Medal Winner
"This fast-moving adventure--the beginning of a trilogy--is sure to appease mythology fans who are outgrowing Percy Jackson's antics and looking for darker, weightier storytelling. VERDICT A great choice for middle school collections." --School Library Journal
"Percy Jackson meets Norse mythology in this captivating and unique adventure." --Foreword Reviews (4 stars out of 5)
"The Red Sun: Legends of Orkney by Alane Adams is a book that will take children on a roller coaster ride of adventure and fantasy where whimsical and menacing creatures and witches will enthrall readers." --Readers' Favorite (5 stars out of 5)
"This novel may appeal to young readers who have enjoyed other 'chosen one' fantasy stories: It moves along at a speedy clip, and preteens will likely identify with Sam's anger and frustration with the world . . . it's a high fantasy tale that maintains a quick pace..." --Kirkus Reviews
"The Red Sun is a roller coaster ride of adventure, Norse mythology, magic and mayhem. Between Sam facing awesome villains in the magical realm of Orkney to teachers turning into lizards, I had the best time doing the voiceover for the audiobook. Don't miss out on this terrific story!" --Karan Brar, actor on Disney's Jessie and Bunk'd
"Alane Adams is the brilliant mind behind the Legends of Orkney series . . . Adams' knowledge of the Norse myths lends itself to an intricate story full of legend and mysticism . . . For Percy Jackson fans." --Hypable
"8 Middle Grade Books to Fall For During School Season" --BuzzFeed
"Alane Adams weaves a rollicking tale of adventure, filled with magic and mayhem, in The Red Sun, first in the Legends of Orkney series. Adams combines elements of Norse mythology and Umatilla tradition to send her young protagonist, Sam, on a unique quest to find himself and to save the entire realm of Orkney in the process." --Clarion
"Cool read for kids" --Middle Shelf Magazine
"A fast-paced adventure quest full of Norse mythology and spellbinding fun. Fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter will love The Red Sun." --Kristen Hunt, author of Blonde Eskimo