The Postmistress of Paris

Available

Product Details

Price
$27.99  $25.75
Publisher
Harper
Publish Date
Pages
416
Dimensions
5.6 X 9.1 X 1.6 inches | 1.2 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062946980

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Meg Waite Clayton is the New York Times bestselling author of eight novels, including The Postmistress of Paris (a Publisher's Weekly notable book; HarperCollins, Nov. 30, 2021), the National Jewish Book Award finalist and international bestseller The Last Train to London, the Langum Award honoree The Race for Paris, the Bellwether Prize finalist The Language of Light, and The Wednesday Sisters, an Entertainment Weekly 25 Essential Best Friend Novels of all time. Her novels have been published in 23 languages. She has also written more than 100 essays, opinions, and reviews for major newspapers, magazines, and public radio. She mentors in the OpEd Project, and is a member of the National Book Critics Circle and the California bar. megwaiteclayton.com

Reviews

I loved The Postmistress of Paris, a novel of so many layers - a suspense story, a love story, and a story about the purpose of art. Meg Waite Clayton is a brilliant and deft writer, and I rooted for her strong, witty and brave heroine on her pulse-pounding mission to save Jewish painters, intellectuals, and a motherless child from Vichy France.--Lisa Scottoline, New York Times bestselling author of Eternal
Widely esteemed for her previous World War II novels, Meg Waite Clayton triumphantly returns with The Postmistress of Paris, a story of one woman's heroic quest to help the forgotten in Occupied France. Clayton's immaculately researched and beautifully written tale of passage and courage and heart is her best work yet.--Pam Jenoff, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Woman With The Blue Star
"Clayton expertly renders the story of a courageous American woman's role in the French Resistance during WWII. . . . Clayton's lyrical, thought-provoking prose breathes life into her characters. This sterling portrait of a complex woman stands head and shoulders above most contemporary WWII fiction."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"A true gem . . . and a testament to the power of good." --Portia Kapraun, Library Journal (starred review)
"The work of an unsung heroine rises from the pages of The Postmistress of Paris. Meg Waite Clayton draws a vivid contrast between the beauty of art and the brutality of war, the power of humanity and the human cost of cruelty, greed, and prejudice. With a heart-stopping flight across war-torn Europe, this is a story readers of historical fiction and strong female characters will devour."--Lisa Wingate, # 1 New York Times Bestselling Author of Before We Were Yours
"This gripping historical love story from Clayton brings readers into the courageous lives of those struggling just to stay alive and those risking everything to help." --Booklist
Fans of Kate Quinn and Kristin Hannah will want to dive right into The Postmistress of Paris. --BookPage
An evocative love story layered with heroism and intrigue -- the film 'Casablanca' if Rick had an artsy bent ... powerful." --San Francisco Chronicle
A sweeping tale of perseverance and courage set against the backdrop of Nazi-era Europe, The Postmistress of Paris is the very best kind of historical fiction: a complex and intriguing story that both highlights a little-known moment in the past and resonates powerfully in the present, reminding us that bigotry can only be vanquished when people are willing to take a stand."--Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train