The Perishing

Available

Product Details

Price
$26.00  $24.18
Publisher
Counterpoint LLC
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
6.2 X 9.1 X 1.2 inches | 1.36 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781640093027

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

NATASHIA DEÓN is an NAACP Image Award Nominee, practicing criminal attorney, and college professor. A Pamela Krasney Moral Courage Fellow, Deón is the author of the critically acclaimed debut novel, Grace, which was named a Best Book by The New York Times. Deón has been awarded fellowships by PEN America, Prague Summer Program for Writers, Dickinson House in Belgium, the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference, and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts.

Reviews

An Entropy Best Book of the Year

A supple exploration of life in 1930s Los Angeles as well as a moving meditation on the Black American experience in the 20th century . . . Deón's prose is beautiful, and the voice animating The Perishing is heartfelt . . . A vibrant, immersive world that's worth spending time in, learning and remembering." --Amal El-Mohtar, The New York Times Book Review

The Perishing is an odyssey through time, Los Angeles, and circuitous, lyrical storytelling . . . In Natashia Deón's historical-science-fiction tale, reincarnation is a whimsical Trojan horse, inside of which we see how Black people inherit their histories. Deón offers close-up peeks at the City of Angels's past life--Prohibition, early school integration, the St. Francis Dam collapse--while also imagining its future legacy. The writing is often spiky poetry; Deón's descriptions of Lou's surroundings, mirroring her amnesia, are filled with new wonder at an old world, destabilizing objects as ordinary as a pack of gum . . . In this myth-laden, cross-generational pilgrimage, Black lives move less like wind and more like water: shifting shape but retaining their essence as they cycle through and bear witness to an American city. --Nicole Acheampong, The Atlantic

"Pick this one up and I promise . . . you will not be able to put it down" --Shay Mitchell, Book of the Month

Vivid and thrilling. --Annabel Gutterman, TIME

The salient beauty of The Perishing is that [it] grapple[s] with what it is like to be inside bodies in extremis, on the edge of risk. Deón attend[s] to the body as a locus of power or its absence: how bodies relate to objects in space, how they feel, how they are given voice--or not--within a place. --Anita Fellicelli, Alta

Is it sci-fi? Is it historical fiction? Mystery? Yes! And it's unique, wondrous and brilliant. --Karla Strand, Ms.

The Perishing . . . plays like its own genre--lyrical strangeness. --Christopher Borelli, Chicago Tribune

Natashia Deón's critically acclaimed debut novel, Grace, ushered in a brand-new literary talent whose fans have been waiting five long years to see what she would do next. It's clear within the first few pages of her new novel, The Perishing, that the wait has been well worth it . . . The Perishing is a downright masterpiece. Welcome to the world of literary stardom, Natashia Deón. --Scott Neumyer, Shondaland

Alongside authors who have portrayed Black Los Angeles with imaginative, complex soul--from Octavia Butler to Venita Blackburn--Deón has subverted the fantastic in the most satisfying of ways --Jason Parham, WIRED

The Perishing is a startling, luminous love letter to Los Angeles and one of the best books of 2021. --Adam Morgan, The A.V. Club

History repeats itself on a personal level in this time-travel novel from Natashia Deón . . . The book is a fascinating and thrilling mystery, but for Deón, it's also a commentary on the frustrating cycles of injustice that have yet to crack. --Rosa Cartagena, Bitch

An intoxicating blend of sci-fi and historical fiction, The Perishing is a unique perspective on Depression-era life for a Black woman, time traveler or not. --Kirby Beaton, BuzzFeed

This marriage of period lit and science fiction will plug the Lovecraft Country sized hole in your heart. --Keyaira Boone, Essence

Haunting and beautiful. --Danielle Broadway, Black Girl Nerds

From the Epic of Gilgamesh to Marvel's Eternals, humans have always dreamt of living forever, and speculated on what it would be like to do so. And with so many examples in existence, it's difficult to present readers with a fresh take on the sempiternal trope, but Natashia Deón's second novel, The Perishing, does exactly that . . . Deón's prose is gorgeous, lushly poetic and 'voice-y, ' with a lot of appeal for fans of Octavia E. Butler and Carol Emshwiller . . . For a novel concerned with portraying timelessness, Deón anchors scenes in minute, present-moment detail. Readers who don't surrender to the slow pace may get frustrated and skim, which is a pity, considering Deón's mastery of writing at the sentence level and the slow-burn of the mystery she unfolds. --Caren Gusoff, Locus Magazine

The Perishing is full of language that is accomplishing multiple feats at once. One of which is being able to capture the visceral and emotional backdrop of a moment that translates throughout the book . . . As Lou learns more about how to exist in her body, and the many bodies of the lives that follow, she establishes a voice that, like Deón's, is too powerful to ever be forgotten. --Aaron Coats, Chicago Review of Books

A dark, gritty and slow-burning mystery . . . Deón's writing is beautiful, with a rat-a-tat quality, like brutal poetry mixed with fierce prose. --Carole V. Bell, BookPage

Tantalizing, intoxicating, and fantastical . . . Déon creates a haunting and atmospheric tale of immortality and mystery grounded in Black history and tradition. --Booklist (starred review)