The Peacock Detectives

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
Pages
288
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.3 X 1.0 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062896704

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Carly Nugent lives in Bright, a town in Victoria, Australia. Her short fiction has been featured in numerous publications, including the Bellevue Literary Review and Award Winning Australian Writing. The Peacock Detectives is her first novel.

Reviews

"The Peacock Detectives comes to life with charming simplicity, careful symbolism and delightful imagery. Debut novelist Carly Nugent has added a tender touch to the serious life topics of family breakdown and change, grief and mental illness and gives hope in the form of friendship, self-discovery and acceptance."--Magpies Magazine
"A tender and heartfelt story."--Martine Murray, author of How to Make a Bird
"Heartfelt and funny...Carly Nugent's debut is a lively and generous story that acknowledges the powerful feelings of its readers, and the space they occupy in the world."--Books+Publishing
"Nugent gently explores issues of depression...and brings the whole adventure satisfyingly around with a delightful peacock discovery."--SA Weekend
"[The Peacock Detectives] is satisfying in its energy, style, and use of metaphor [and] approaches tender topics with unflinching courage and aplomb."--Kirkus Reviews
β€œThis quietly powerful journey deals honestly with the impact of depression and such social issues as gun violence in the U.S. Debut author Nugent sensitively portrays Cassie's struggles with family and friends as she grows to see that true bonds can be both hard won and well worth the effort.”--Publishers Weekly
"This Australian import has plenty of quirky charm... the book touches on many family and friendship situations with which readers will empathize. Fans of Sheila Turnage and Susan Patron are a natural audience for this story."--School Library Journal
"Cassie's narration is friendly and inviting... Audiences will want to come along for the ride and will look forward to the crew's next adventure."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"Cassie has great appeal for the young crowd with her subtly poetic approach, lists, dialogue, and simple explanations- all while tackling some big topics...a highly rewarding read."--YA Books Central
"This detective story [is] a good choice for any realistic fiction fan, mystery lover or not."--Horn Book Magazine
s