The Other Side of the World

Stephanie Bishop (Author)
Backorder

Description

In the tradition of The Hours and Revolutionary Road, an "exquisite meditation on motherhood, marriage, and the meaning of home" (The New York Times Book Review), set in England, Australia, and India in the early 1960s.

The only thing harder than losing home is trying to find it again.

Cambridge, 1963. Charlotte is struggling. With motherhood, with the changes brought on by marriage and parenthood, with never having the time or energy to paint. Her husband, Henry, cannot face the thought of another English winter. A brochure slipped through the mailbox--Australia brings out the best in you--gives him an idea.

Charlotte is too worn out to resist, and before she knows it they are traveling to the other side of the world. But upon their arrival in Perth, the southern sun shines a harsh light on the couple and gradually reveals that their new life is not the answer either was hoping for. Charlotte barely recognizes herself in this place where she is no longer a promising young artist, but instead a lonely housewife venturing into the murky waters of infidelity. Henry, an Anglo-Indian, is slowly ostracized at the university where he teaches poetry. Subtle at first, the ostracism soon invades his entire sense of identity.

Trapped by nostalgia, Charlotte and Henry are both left wondering if there is any place in this world where they truly belong. Which of them will make the attempt to find out? Who will succeed?

"An exquisite and clear-eyed story of the ambiguities of love and creativity, motherhood and migration...It's a thing of beauty and honesty, as big as the whole unmoored world, and as particular as a family's moments and moods," says Ashley Hay, author of The Railwayman's Wife.

Product Details

Price: $16.00
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Published Date: June 27, 2017
Pages: 256
Dimensions: 5.3 X 0.8 X 8.1 inches | 0.5 pounds
ISBN: 9781501133138
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Stephanie Bishop was named one of The Sydney Morning Herald's Best Young Australian Novelists for her debut novel, The Singing. She holds a PhD from Cambridge University and is currently a lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of New South Wales. The Other Side of the World was longlisted for the Stella Prize 2016 and shortlisted for the Indie Book Awards 2016, the Australian/Vogel Literary Award, and the Victorian Premier's Literary Award. It won the Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction 2015, as well as the Australian Book Industry Award for Literary Fiction Book of the Year 2016.

Reviews

"Beautifully written and atmospheric, Bishop illustrates the deep ambivalence one woman feels towards marriage and motherhood with breathtaking insight. Her skill as a writer is unquestionable: she has a poet's eye for the world, particularly landscape, and her evocation of 1960s Cambridge and Perth is exceptional."--Hannah Kent, author of Burial Rites
"Acutely sensitive to the powerful effects of place on the psyche, Bishop weaves a gorgeous, heartbreaking story about a woman pushed to the limits of love, until she's faced with a choice: her family or herself?"

--Christina Schwarz, author of Drowning Ruth and The Edge of the Earth
"An exquisite and clear-eyed story of the ambiguities of love and creativity, motherhood and migration. Stephanie Bishop's novel works on its readers' souls with the broadest sweeps of its narrative's canvas and the word-by-word lyricism of its sentences. It's a thing of beauty and honesty, as big as the whole unmoored world, and as particular as a family's moments and moods."

--Ashley Hay, author of The Railwayman's Wife
"An exquisite meditation on motherhood, marriage and the meaning of home."--The New York Times
"An artfully rendered meditation on marriage, home, and identity."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"A movingly subtle narrative...The writing is terrific, bringing clarity to the inchoate longings felt by mothers, creative women, and outsiders...Within it, though, we experience what marriage and parenthood and the very idea of home can do to a person's sense of herself."--Psychology Today