The Only Good Indians

Available

Product Details

Price
$26.99  $24.83
Publisher
Gallery / Saga Press
Publish Date
July 14, 2020
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.4 X 1.3 inches | 0.88 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781982136451

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Stephen Graham Jones has been an NEA fellowship recipient, has won the Jesse Jones Award for Best Work of Fiction from the Texas Institute of Letters, the Independent Publishers Award for Multicultural Fiction, a Bram Stoker Award, four This is Horror Awards; and has been a finalist for the Shirley Jackson Award and the World Fantasy Award. He is the Ivena Baldwin Professor of English at the University of Colorado Boulder.

Reviews

"The Only Good Indians is scary good. Stephen Graham Jones is one of our most talented and prolific living writers. The book is full of humor and bone chilling images. It's got love and revenge, blood and basketball. More than I could have asked for in a novel. It also both reveals and subverts ideas about contemporary Native life and identity. Novels can do some much to render actual and possible lives lived. Stephen Graham Jones truly knows how to do this, and how to move us through a story at breakneck (literally) speed. I'll never see an elk or hunting, or what a horror novel can do the same way again."--Tommy Orange, Pulitzer Prize finalist of There There
"THE ONLY GOOD INDIANS is a masterpiece. Intimate, devastating, brutal, terrifying, yet warm and heartbreaking in the best way, Stephen Graham Jones has written a horror novel about injustice and, ultimately, about hope. Not a false, sentimental hope, but the real one, the one that some of us survive and keeps the rest of us going. And it gives me hope that this book exists and is now in your hands."--Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and The Cabin at the End of the World
"How long must we pay for our mistakes, for our sins? Does a thoughtless act doom us for eternity? This is a novel of profound insight and horror, rich with humor and intelligence. The Only Good Indians is a triumph; somehow it's a great story and also a meditation on stories. I've wondered who would write a worthy heir to Peter Straub's Ghost Story. Now I know the answer: Stephen Graham Jones."--Victor LaValle, author of The Ballad of Black Tom and The Changeling
"Subtly funny and wry at turns, this novel will give you nightmares. The good kind, of course."--Buzzfeed
"Jones hits his stride with a smart story of social commentary--it's scary good."--Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW
"A heartbreakingly beautiful story about hope and survival, grappling with themes of cultural identity, family, and traditions." --Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW
"This novel works both as a terrifying chiller and as biting commentary on the existential crisis of indigenous peoples adapting to a culture that is bent on eradicating theirs." --Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW
"I like stories where nobody escapes their pasts because it's what I fear most."--Terese Marie Mailhot, New York Times bestselling author of Heart Berries
"Stephen Graham Jones is one of our greatest treasures. His prose here pops and sings, hard-boiled poetry conspiring with heartbreakingly-alive characters." --Sam J. Miller, Nebula-Award-Winning author of Blackfish City
"Jones... has written a masterpiece. The book is... as instinctive and essential as it is harsh. Despite the blood and bleakness, The Only Good Indians is ultimately also about hope and the promise of the future...Read it."-- "Locus Magazine"
"Gritty and gorgeous" --The New York Times
"Jones boldly and bravely incorporates both the difficult and the beautiful parts of contemporary Indian life into his story, never once falling into stereotypes or easy answers but also not shying away from the horrors caused by cycles of violence."--Rebecca Roanhorse, bestselling author of Trail of Lightning and Black Sun
"Stephen Graham Jones is a literary master who happens to write horror, and you've never read a book quite like The Only Good Indians."--Tananarive Due, National Book Award winner, author of The Good House
"The Only Good Indians is the most American horror novel I've ever read."--Grady Hendrix, New York Times bestselling author of The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires
"The Only Good Indian is equal parts revenge thriller, monster movie, and meditation on the inescapable undertow of the past. A gripping, deeply unsettling novel."--Carmen Maria Machado, National Book Award finalist and Guggenheim Fellow and author of Her Body and Other Parties
"Fans of Stephen King's It and Peter Straub's Ghost Story should find plenty to love in this tale of friends who are haunted by a supernatural entity they first encountered in their youth." --Silvia Moreno-Garcia, bestselling author of Mexican Gothic
"The best yet from one of the best in the business. An emotional depth that staggers, built on guilt, identity, one's place in the world, what's right and what's wrong. The Only Good Indians has it all: style, elevation, reality, the unreal, revenge, warmth, freezing cold, and even some slashing. In other words, the book is made up of everything Stephen Graham Jones seemingly explores and, in turn, everything the rest of us want to explore with him." --Josh Malerman, New York Times bestselling author of Bird Box and A House at the Bottom of a Lake.