The Notebook, the Proof, the Third Lie: Three Novels

Agota Kristof (Author) David Watson (Translator)
& 2 more


These three internationally acclaimed novels have confirmed Agota Kristof's reputation as one of the most provocative exponents of new-wave European fiction. With all the stark simplicity of a fractured fairy tale, the trilogy tells the story of twin brothers, Claus and Lucas, locked in an agonizing bond that becomes a gripping allegory of the forces that have divided -brothers- in much of Europe since World War II. Kristof's postmodern saga begins with The Notebook, in which the brothers are children, lost in a country torn apart by conflict, who must learn every trick of evil and cruelty merely to survive. In The Proof, Lucas is challenging to prove his own identity and the existence of his missing brother, a defector to the -other side.- The Third Lie, which closes the trilogy, is a biting parable of Eastern and Western Europe today and a deep exploration into the nature of identity, storytelling, and the truths and untruths that lie at the heart of them all. -Stark and haunting.- - The San Francisco Chronicle; -A vision of considerable depth and complexity, a powerful portrait of the nobility and perversity of the human heart.- - The Christian Science Monitor.

Product Details

$18.00  $16.56
Grove Press
Publish Date
June 23, 1997
5.56 X 1.33 X 8.21 inches | 1.01 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

DAVID WATSON is Senior Lecturer in Social Work at Glasgow Caledonian University.

Alan Sheridan is the author of Michel Foucault: The Will to Truth. He has also translated over 50 books, including works by Sartre, Lacan, and Foucault.