The Monster Sisters and the Mystery of the Unlocked Cave

Gareth Gaudin (Author)
Available

Description

When a quiet seaside town is suddenly overrun by hundreds of giant monsters, two young sisters are the only ones prepared to handle the situation. Using their keen interest in architecture, local history, folklore and gymnastics, the two girls attempt to not only stop the monsters' rampage but also figure out why it's happening. The story is set in Victoria, British Columbia, and the city's impressive history and creepy folklore add intrigue to the proceedings, as more and more monstrous guests arrive on this unceded Lekwungen Territory.

The Monster Sisters, Enid Jupiter and Lyra Gotham, are two young sleuths in the vein of Nancy Drew or Scooby Doo, doing superheroic deeds while learning about colonialism on Indigenous land. Using maps, true facts and witty asides, this graphic novel is as much of an adventure to read as it is for the characters to experience. This is book one in a two-book series. The second will come out in spring 2020.

Product Details

Price
$19.95  $18.35
Publisher
Orca Book Publishers
Publish Date
September 17, 2019
Pages
160
Dimensions
7.0 X 0.4 X 10.2 inches | 0.9 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781459822269

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Gareth Gaudin is a cartoonist and comic-book creator from Victoria, British Columbia. He discovered comic books when he was five years old and knew immediately that they would become his life's work. He started photocopying and selling his comics in elementary school, self-publishing hundreds of his own creations, and eventually became the owner of a vintage comic-book shop, where he sells his comics from the front counter to this day. Enid Jupiter and Lyra Gotham are based on Gareth's own adventure-loving daughters.

Reviews

"A fascinating mix of intriguing elements: imaginative monster battles, fun historical facts, a gently spooky mystery, and a warm emphasis on sisterhood."--Kirkus Reviews
"Promising first installment...the memorable characters and clever visuals should propel readers to the planned sequel."--Publishers Weekly
"The Monster Sisters, are rabble-rousing, smart-talking kids...The art is engaging and fun, with full-page monster attacks, action-packed vine swinging, a section on Morse code, and plenty of cool maps...For those who love Canadian history and courageous kid detectives battling giant monsters."--School Library Journal
"A powerful, kick-butt sleuthing duo...A fun, promising first book."--CM: Canadian Review of Materials
"An entertaining read. The adventures are imaginative and fun...The people of Victoria, as well as many other readers will enjoy the many references to the city."--Resource Links