The Magnificent Mya Tibbs: The Wall of Fame Game

Crystal Allen (Author) Eda Kaban (Illustrator)
Available

Description

The most fabulous nine-year-old cowgirl in Texas is back in this heartwarming and hilarious sequel to The Magnificent Mya Tibbs: Spirit Week Showdown! Perfect for fans of Clementine and Ivy and Bean. This chapter book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 7 to 9 who are reading independently. It's a fun way to keep your child engaged and as a supplement for activity books for children.

Nine-year-old Mya Tibbs is in a triple heap of trouble. As the Tibbs household prepares for the new baby, Mya is extra excited to spend time with her mom watching their favorite Annie Oakley marathon before her new sister arrives. Until she's cornered into a bet with her number-one enemy, Naomi Jackson, that she can beat her in the famous fourth-grade Wall of Fame Game--which means Mya is stuck studying every night instead of hanging out with Mom. As if that wasn't enough, Mya just entered Bluebonnet's annual chili cook-off, even though she doesn't know how to cook! Holy moly!

Can Mya find a way to beat Naomi, win the chili cook-off, and get some special mom/daughter time before it's too late?

--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publish Date
January 31, 2017
Pages
272
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.3 X 1.1 inches | 0.75 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062342362

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Crystal Allen is the author of How Lamar's Bad Prank Won a Bubba-Sized Trophy, which received a Florida Sunshine State Award Master List nomination and was a Junior Library Guild selection. She is also the author of the acclaimed middle grade novels The Laura Line, The Magnificent Mya Tibbs: Spirit Week Showdown, and The Magnificent Mya Tibbs: The Wall of Fame Game. She currently lives in Sugar Land, Texas, with her husband, Reggie, and two sons, Phillip and Joshua. You can visit her website at www.crystalallenbooks.com.

Eda Kaban has illustrated many books for children. Born and raised in Turkey, Eda now lives in Oakland, California, with her husband, small son, and two Siamese cats. www.edakabanstudio.com, Instagram: @petiteturk, Twitter: @petiteturk

Reviews

Praise for THE LAURA LINE: "This is a lively approach to an issue that's come up recently in the news...and the historical aspect could help readers consider their own family lore that may not have made its way into written accounts."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Praise for THE LAURA LINE: "Laura Dyson's sweet, sassy voice draws you into this delightful story of self-discovery and acceptance, unwavering friendship and the deep roots of one amazing family."--Donna Gephart, author of OLIVIA BEAN, TRIVIA QUEEN
Praise for THE LAURA LINE: "Crystal Allen shows us how our relatives, even the ones we've never met, sometimes have a way of gently weaving a path to exactly who we're meant to be, our truest and best self."--Kathryn Fitzmaurice-author of THE YEAR THE SWALLOWS CAME EARLY
"Hilarious...with a charming cast of characters that readers will be eager to follow."--Kirkus Reviews
Praise for THE MAGNIFICENT MYA TIBBS: SPIRIT WEEK SHOWDOWN: "In Spirit Week Showdown, earnest Mya, with her Texas charm and mounting friendship problems, kept me turning the pages all the way to the boo-yang cool finale. Trust me: you'll want all your friends to read this one!"--Tracey Baptiste, author of The Jumbies, a School Library Journal selection
Praise for HOW LAMAR'S BAD PRANK WON A BUBBA-SIZED TROPHY: "The tween book world has a new hero-Lamar Washington-as well as a brilliant new author who's bound to win a Bubba-sized trophy herself!"--Neal Shusterman, author of THE SCHWA WAS HERE and CHALLENGER DEEP