The Lost Shtetl

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$27.99  $25.75
Publisher
Harpervia
Publish Date
Pages
416
Dimensions
6.4 X 9.1 X 1.5 inches | 1.25 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062991126

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Max Gross is a former staff writer for the New York Post and the Forward and is currently the Editor in Chief of the Commercial Observer. He lives in New York City with his wife and son.


Reviews

[G]reat fun, packed with warmth, humor, and delightful Yiddish expressions....Reaching into the storytelling tradition that stretches from Sholem Aleichem to Isaac Bashevis Singer to Michael Chabon, the author spins an ingenious yarn about the struggle between past and present. --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Lively and imaginative.... alternately reminiscent of early Isaac Bashevis Singer and a Catskills comedian. Gross's entertaining, sometimes disquieting tale delivers laugh-out-loud moments and deep insight on human foolishness, resilience, and faith.--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
[A] dose of fabulism may be the best cure yet for a psychologically intolerable contemporary moment...[The Lost Shtetl is] a riveting narrative about the costs of living in one's own time as opposed to the benefits and disadvantages of living in a "lost horizon" that has been overlooked by the contemporary world. It's filled with a slew of intriguing characters....If this novel doesn't take your mind off being holed up in a shuttered-down city or trying to escape the reality of the pandemic by socially distancing somewhere in the country, nothing will.--Vogue
"I was blown away.... 'The Lost Shtetl' is a Jewish fantasy in the vein of Michael Chabon's 'The Yiddish Policemen's Union' and Steve Stern's Jewish magical realism novels. There are even echoes of Simon Rich's New Yorker story, 'Sell Out, ' about a time-travelling Orthodox Jewish immigrant, soon to be the major motion picture 'An American Pickle' starring, yes, Seth Rogen.....The novel's narrator, a kind of first-person collective, sounds both contemporary and folkloric, as if one of the great Yiddish writers had somehow survived, like Kreskol, to tell its story. 'The Lost Shtetl' stands on its own."--Jewish Week
A gorgeous debut.--New York Post