The Lost Rainforest: Gogi's Gambit

Eliot Schrefer (Author) Emilia Dziubak (Illustrator)
Available

Product Details

Price
$6.99  $6.43
Publisher
Katherine Tegen Books
Publish Date
December 10, 2019
Pages
368
Dimensions
5.1 X 0.9 X 7.5 inches | 0.53 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062491152

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Eliot Schrefer is a New York Times bestselling author, has twice been a finalist for the National Book Award in Young People's Literature, and has won the Green Earth Book Award and the Sigurd F. Olson Nature Writing Award for Children's Literature. His novels include the Lost Rainforest series, Endangered, Threatened, Rescued, Orphaned, and two books in the Spirit Animals series. He lives in New York City, is on the faculty of the Hamline University and Fairleigh Dickinson University MFA in creative writing programs, and reviews books for USA Today. Visit him online at www.eliotschrefer.com.

Emilia Dziubak is an award-winning illustrator based in Poland. She is a graduate of The Academy of Fine Arts in Poznan and has illustrated numerous children's picture books that have been translated throughout the world. She is the illustrator of The House of Lost and Found (Floris Books).

Reviews

β˜… "The second installment in this fast-paced fantasy is enhanced by the richly detailed rainforest setting... a tale about how to celebrate differences and still find unity. Another knockout in a series that will appeal to nature lovers, animal lovers, and fans of magical adventure."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
β˜…"Schrefer's second book in the Lost Rainforest series continues the enthralling fantasy adventures of this eclectic group of animals and hints at where the next threat to the rain forest will come from. Fans of Mez's Magic and Katherine Applegate's Endling #1: The Last (2018) will eagerly devour Gogi's Gambit."--Booklist (starred review)
PRAISE FOR MEZ'S MAGIC: "Unlike anything I've read. Eliot Schrefer has mined the richness and depths of his setting to find a deeper magic, immersing us in a world that is at once complex, dangerous, beautiful, and ultimately demanding of our protection. A thrilling start to an exceptional new series."--Soman Chainani, New York Times bestselling author of the School for Good and Evil series
β˜… "While the story is pure fast-paced fantasy, the underlying issues are real. Ignorance among the species, racism, and intolerance of differences are rampant. An author's note highlights the beauty and importance of the rainforest. Magic with depth in this new series stunner."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Just right for middle grade readers who want an engrossing fantasy adventure."--School Library Journal
"With a memorable, quick-bantering cast, this kickoff to the Lost Rainforest series, a playful departure from Schrefer's ape novels, brings fresh perspective to the magical animal subgenre. And, despite the fantasy setup, readers will come away learning quite a bit about this ecosystem and its inhabitants."--Publishers Weekly
"Mez's Magic is packed with as many jokes as fast-paced fight scenes. And Schrefer has created a stock of memorable characters--including Gogi, a monkey with self-esteem issues; Rumi, a delightfully urbane tree frog; and a manic, pixie-dream bat named Lima."--New York Times Book Review