The Lost Marble Notebook of Forgotten Girl & Random Boy

Backorder

Product Details

Price
$16.99
Publisher
Sky Pony
Publish Date
Pages
272
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.3 X 1.0 inches | 0.01 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781632204264

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Marie Jaskulka taught English and honed her fiction through educational writing. She holds a BA in English from Saint Joseph's University and an MFA in creative writing from the University of Alaska-Fairbanks. Jaskulka began writing in utero (or so it seems) and used to lie to her parents, telling them she had a ton of homework to do, so they would allow her to write instead of making her go outside to play. She resides in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania.

Reviews

"Told with such complete believability . . . Jaskulka's narrative explores the hows and whys of an abusive teenage relationship with heartbreaking honesty, and her delicate touch renders the dark story even more powerful. Graceful. Searing. Haunting." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Realistic, gripping, worrisome yet hopeful. VERDICT: Give this to fans of Sonya Sones and Ellen Hopkins." --School Library Journal

"Forgotten Girl is a sophomore whose parents argue, scream, and slam doors. Looking out her bedroom window for salvation and fresh air, she sees Random Boy passing by--and soon her life enters a new downward spiral. In this twinned novel in verse, Jaskulka distinguishes the narratives by italicizing Random Boy's notebook entries. The author's terse poetic style suits their stilted emotions as girl and boy trudge through hardships in their homes and their own twisted bond. Don't judge this book by its seemingly lighthearted title or appealing cover; this story plumbs the dark depths of domestic violence." --Booklist

"This debut novel-in-verse is both beautiful and rough around the edges. Jaskulka handles her subject matter well, blending the poetry around the gritty details of the story. Each poet has his/her own distinct voice, making the transition between one and the other effortless. Both of these voices are real--real teenagers dealing with some major hardships. This is not an easy read; however, Jaskulka's characters pepper their story with cynicism and wit. Readers will laugh, cry, and find themselves nodding their heads. Fans of Sonya Sones and Ellen Hopkins will want to get their hands on this novel."--VOYA

"An original love story, arresting and beautiful. Heartbreakingly honest. At moments frightening, but ultimately hopeful." --Laura Whitcomb, author of A Certain Slant of Light

"Eloquent, lyrical, combustible, Marie Jaskulka's debut verse novel will draw you into the world of two teens whose thoughts and words resonate with raw beauty, love, and obsession. Jaskulka reminds us that, deep down, we know when love is real, and when we find it--we find our power." --Bridget Birdsall, author of Double Exposure

"This is one of those books I wish I could travel back in time to give to fifteen-year-old me. It's a lyrical, raw, and honest account of love, losing yourself, and finding your voice, and with it, your inner strength." --Stephanie Kuehnert, author of I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone