The Lingering

Available

Product Details

Price
$15.95
Publisher
Orenda Books
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.0 X 0.9 X 7.7 inches | 0.35 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781912374533
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

S.J.I. (Susi) Holliday is a pharmaceutical statistician by day and a crime and horror fan by night. Her short stories have been published in many places and she was shortlisted for the inaugural CWA Margery Allingham prize with her story 'Home from Home', which was published in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine in spring 2017. She is the bestselling author of the creepy and claustrophobic Banktoun trilogy (Black Wood, Willow Walk and The Damselfly) featuring the much-loved Sergeant Davie Gray, and the festive serial killer thriller The Deaths of December. The Lingering was a number-one bestseller in ebook, and critically acclaimed in the UK press.

Reviews

"A compulsive read until the final, breathtaking page." --Elizabeth Haynes, author, Behind Closed Doors
"Deliciously dark and twisted . . . Add it to your wish list now if you like being scared silly!" --Mark Edwards, author, The Retreat
"Brilliantly chilling and perfectly paced. Ghosts, witchcraft, murder and manipulation." --Anna Mazzola, author, The Unseeing
"An outstanding work of modern gothic which perfectly captures the ghosted isolation of the fens and the more tangible terrors of a remote commune, where historical abuses meet contemporary horrors. In the new wave of gothic novels The Lingering is a stand out triumph." --Eva Dolan, author, This Is How It Ends
"An unsettling tale of hauntings, both real and metaphorical, that lingers in the mind long after the reader turns the final page. A top-notch supernatural thriller." --Mason Cross, author, Don't Look for Me
"One of the most original ghost stores I have ever read, The Lingering pays homage to classic spooky tales and completely subverts them at the same time. Highly recommended." --Cass Green, author, In a Cottage in a Wood
"The Lingering is a gripping read, full of creeping menace and insidious dread, perfectly paced and guaranteed to cause you sleepless nights for all the right reasons. Fans of Susan Hill and Andrew Taylor, take note. One of my favourite authors." --David Mark, author, Dead Pretty
"A relentlessly unnerving mystery--like shuffling footsteps from a long-locked attic." --Matt Wesolowski, author, Six Stories
"Readers will find this contemporary gothic take hard to put down." --Publishers Weekly