The Lightness

Emily Temple (Author)
Available

Description

"The Lightness could be the love child of Donna Tartt and Tana French, but its savage, glittering magic is all Emily Temple's own." --Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Immortalists

A Most Anticipated Novel by Marie Claire - Elle - WSJ. Magazine - Glamour - Vulture - Bustle - Buzzfeed - The Millions - The Philadelphia Inquirer - The Daily Beast - Refinery 29 - Publishers Weekly - Literary Hub - Electric Literature - and more

A stylish, stunningly precise, and suspenseful meditation on adolescent desire, female friendship, and the female body that shimmers with rage, wit, and fierce longing--an audacious, darkly observant, and mordantly funny literary debut for fans of Emma Cline, Ottessa Moshfegh, and Jenny Offill.

One year ago, the person Olivia adores most in the world, her father, left home for a meditation retreat in the mountains and never returned. Yearning to make sense of his shocking departure and to escape her overbearing mother--a woman as grounded as her father is mercurial--Olivia runs away from home and retraces his path to a place known as the Levitation Center.

Once there, she enrolls in their summer program for troubled teens, which Olivia refers to as "Buddhist Boot Camp for Bad Girls". Soon, she finds herself drawn into the company of a close-knit trio of girls determined to transcend their circumstances, by any means necessary. Led by the elusive and beautiful Serena, and her aloof, secretive acolytes, Janet and Laurel, the girls decide this is the summer they will finally achieve enlightenment--and learn to levitate, to defy the weight of their bodies, to experience ultimate lightness.

But as desire and danger intertwine, and Olivia comes ever closer to discovering what a body--and a girl--is capable of, it becomes increasingly clear that this is an advanced and perilous practice, and there's a chance not all of them will survive. Set over the course of one fateful summer that unfolds like a fever dream, The Lightness juxtaposes fairy tales with quantum physics, cognitive science with religious fervor, and the passions and obsessions of youth with all of these, to explore concepts as complex as faith and as simple as loving people--even though you don't, and can't, know them at all.

Product Details

Price
$26.99  $24.83
Publisher
William Morrow & Company
Publish Date
June 16, 2020
Pages
288
Dimensions
5.8 X 1.2 X 8.4 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062905321
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Emily Temple was born in Syracuse, New York. She earned a BA from Middlebury College and an MFA in fiction from the University of Virginia, where she was a Henry Hoyns fellow and the recipient of a Henfield Prize. Her short fiction has appeared in Colorado Review, Electric Literature's Recommended Reading, Indiana Review, Fairy Tale Review, and other publications. She lives in Brooklyn, where she is a senior editor at Literary Hub. This is her first novel.

Reviews

"With dark, stylish prose and a group of teenage girls up to no good, The Lightness could be the love child of Donna Tartt and Tana French, but its savage, glittering magic is all Emily Temple's own. Wrought by myth and mysticism, taut with desire and obsession, this debut looks unflinchingly at the nature of human being--and asks whether such constraints can be transcended. The Lightness is a book with fangs."
--Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Immortalists
"The breeziest book . . . in a good way . . . A smart but nervous girl who maintains a propulsive inner monologue that evokes Emma Cline's The Girls and a group of eccentric and bizarre young people that channels Donna Tartt's The Secret History."--WSJ. Magazine, The Nine Best New Books to Read This Spring
"A complex, psychological study of a young woman haunted by her past--and her capacity to hunger for violence and self-destruction . . . A dark, glittering fable about the terror of desire."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Emily Temple has woven a darkly funny, luminously drawn mystery that hits bullseye after bullseye of language and emotion. The Lightness is a book I didn't know I needed and now can't stop thinking about: swift, surprising, and utterly captivating."--Téa Obreht, New York Times bestselling author of Inland and The Tiger's Wife
"Emily Temple's debut The Lightness grants us a bold, smart, hilarious new voice. She tells a page-turning story that's also a detective story--psychologically wise and totally wiseassed, all while being both cynical and spiritual. A classic must read!"--Mary Karr, New York Times bestselling author of Lit
"Emily Temple's sentences are extraordinary: musical, bristling with animal intelligence, feline in their tensed sinuosity, their lack of the usual loyalties, their readiness to pounce. This remarkable novel is made up of equal parts desire and dread; it constantly surprised me, eerily outpacing my expectations. The Lightness is a glorious debut."--Garth Greenwell, award-winning author of What Belongs to You
"Who can resist a novel about a Buddhist Boot Camp for Bad Girls? This debut is funny, whip-smart and transcendently wise about friendship, family, lust and love."--Jenny Offill, New York Times bestselling author of Weather and Dept. of Speculation
"Temple weaves Buddhist practice, rumor, philosophy, and teenage sexual longing into a story that is both deep and compelling. Her characters are complicated and conflicted, immersed in the throes of teenage angst and hormones. Any reader of general fiction would enjoy."--Library Journal