The Last to Let Go

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$12.99  $11.95
Publisher
Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publish Date
Pages
400
Dimensions
5.6 X 8.2 X 1.2 inches | 0.7 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781481480741

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Amber Smith is the New York Times bestselling author of the young adult novels The Way I Used to Be and The Last to Let Go. An advocate for increased awareness of gendered violence, as well as LGBTQ equality, she writes in the hope that her books can help to foster change and spark dialogue surrounding these issues. She grew up in Buffalo, New York, and now lives in Charlotte, North Carolina, with her partner and their ever-growing family of rescued dogs and cats. You can find her online at AmberSmithAuthor.com.

Reviews

* "Smith's deeply felt sophomore effort (following The Way I Used to Be, 2016) explores the rippling effects of domestic violence and its ability to carry through generations...Vivid characterizations of the extended family Brooke gets to know, along with others who people her first year on her own, bring the story to life."
--Booklist, starred review
* "Heartwrenching."--VOYA, starred review
"A well-crafted and honest look at family issues and a good pick for fans of Sara Zarr and Laurie Halse Anderson. Highly recommended."
--School Library Journal
"Complex and nuanced."--BN Teen Blog
"The Last to Let Go is a deeply touching, heart-rending look at lives caught in the trap of domestic violence. I can't recommend this book highly enough." -Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces

"This emotionally charged story is a pitch-perfect portrait of complicated families."
--The Children's Book Review
"Smith will take readers' breaths away with every vivid sentence... [she] boldly explores this very serious, very real topic through beautiful, captivating prose."
--RT Book Reviews
"The ups and downs [Brooke] faces are one hundred percent relatable and demonstrate that, even in the face of pain and anger, hope is the one thing that cannot be taken from us."--The Mary Sue
"A fantastic read."--Culturess
"The hopeful story of a brave young girl's journey to self-acceptance."--Hypable
s