The Last to Let Go

Amber Smith (Author)
Available

Description

A twisted tragedy leaves Brooke and her siblings on their own in this provocative new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used To Be.

How do you let go of something you've never had?

Junior year for Brooke Winters is supposed to be about change. She's transferring schools, starting fresh, and making plans for college so she can finally leave her hometown, her family, and her past behind.

But all of her dreams are shattered one hot summer afternoon when her mother is arrested for killing Brooke's abusive father. No one really knows what happened that day, if it was premeditated or self-defense, whether it was right or wrong. And now Brooke and her siblings are on their own.

In a year of firsts--the first year without parents, first love, first heartbreak, and her first taste of freedom--Brooke must confront the shadow of her family's violence and dysfunction, as she struggles to embrace her identity, finds her true place in the world, and learns how to let go.

Product Details

Price
$17.98  $16.54
Publisher
Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publish Date
February 06, 2018
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.5 X 1.4 X 8.3 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781481480734

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Amber Smith is a former U.S. Army Kiowa Warrior helicopter pilot and air mission commander who flew two combat tours in Iraq and Afghanistan. She frequently appears on national TV and radio networks, analyzing national security, military operations, foreign policy, politics, veterans' affairs, and women's issues. Her articles have been widely published in Forbes, The Washington Examiner, Aviation Week, and other publications. Smith has traveled across the nation to tell her inspirational story and to speak to military and corporate audiences, veterans organizations, at grassroots events, and on Capitol Hill. She lives in Washington, DC. For more information, please visit OfficialAmberSmith.com.

Reviews

"The Last to Let Go is a deeply touching, heart-rending look at lives caught in the trap of domestic violence. I can't recommend this book highly enough." -Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces
* "Smith's deeply felt sophomore effort (following The Way I Used to Be, 2016) explores the rippling effects of domestic violence and its ability to carry through generations...Vivid characterizations of the extended family Brooke gets to know, along with others who people her first year on her own, bring the story to life."--Booklist, starred review
* "Heartwrenching."---VOYA, starred review
"Complex and nuanced."--BN Teen Blog
"Smith will take readers' breaths away with every vivid sentence... [she] boldly explores this very serious, very real topic through beautiful, captivating prose."--RT Book Reviews
"A well-crafted and honest look at family issues and a good pick for fans of Sara Zarr and Laurie Halse Anderson. Highly recommended."--School Library Journal
"This emotionally charged story is a pitch-perfect portrait of complicated families."--The Children's Book Review
"The ups and downs [Brooke] faces are one hundred percent relatable and demonstrate that, even in the face of pain and anger, hope is the one thing that cannot be taken from us."--The Mary Sue
"A fantastic read."--Culturess
"The hopeful story of a brave young girl's journey to self-acceptance."--Hypable