The Last Telegram

Liz Trenow (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$19.99
Publisher
Sourcebooks Landmark
Publish Date
April 02, 2013
Pages
405
Dimensions
5.4 X 1.3 X 8.2 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781402279454
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Liz Trenow is a former BBC and newspaper journalist, now working freelance. She is also the author of The Last Telegram.

Reviews

"This book will easily appeal to fans of 'The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society' and I can see it quickly becoming a favorite of book clubs." - Billie Bloebaum, Powell's Books, Portland, OR
"The Last Telegram is a delightful read. This absorbing novel delves into the secrets of wartime silk production and makes them totally fascinating. Trenow weaves a poignant love story with a fresh and compelling touch, set against an exciting and vivid background that raises serious moral questions that should not be swept under the carpet of history. Tremendously atmospheric and convincing in its details, with characters that touch the heart. A book to savour." - Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine
"The Last Telegram is wonderful. It illustrates evocatively life on the home front and the little known aspect of silk production during the war. More fundamentally, it is a novel about the human spirit - Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free, and she does so with heartfelt characters and vivid, scenic detail that will not soon be forgotten. Splendid!" - Pam Jenoff, author of The Kommandant's Girl
"I thought it was great! it sparked my interest right from the start and the story never lagged...charming." - Sharon Knoth, Between the Covers, Harbor Springs, MI
"Liz Trenow's The Last Telegram gives you an authentic feel of the stresses that must have dominated civilian life in England during World War II...while the reader will learn a lot about silk, it is the interconnected relationships between the characters that really engage the reader." - Nicola Rooney, Nicola's Books, Ann Arbor, MI
"Trenow's first novel chronicles civilian life in England during the terrors of war while also weaving a beautifully moving love story. Reminiscent in tone and subject of Nicholas Spark's The Notebook (1996) and Ian McEwan's Atonement (2002), Lily's tale will resonate with fans of each." - BooklistOnline.com
"Trenow, who serves as a perfect example of the old adage that you should write what you know-she's the descendant of generations of weavers-has penned a mellifluous, impeccably researched narrative." - Kirkus
"This stunning debut glows with the fervor and intensity of what life must have been like for civilians in World War II England. Trenow's firsthand knowledge of the generations-old silk-weaving business provides an enlightening backdrop. The novel is worthy of comparison to The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society; readers will love it. STARRED Review" - Library Journal
"The Last Telegram is a novel about love, regret, friendship and love that readers won't soon forget. As summer draws near, keep this book in mind for your time at the beach or for an upcoming book club selection." - Literate Housewife
"If you are looking for a romantic read that has plenty of poignancy and emotion then I think this is one you will enjoy" - LindyLouMac's Book Reviews
"This book is really about learning to forgive yourself and showing how secrets can affect your life." - Cozy Up with a Good Read
"The Last Telegram is a delightful read, and fans of fiction set during the period will love Lily's story. I know I did, and I look forward to more from Liz Trenow." - drey's library
"The author, who has transitioned from journalistic writing to fiction, has written a stunning debut novel, which I found atmospheric, emotional, and satisfying." - Library of Clean Reads
"I always enjoy learning something when I read a book, especially a historical read, and this book taught me a few things." - The Banking Bookworm
"The Last Telegram is perfect. I was captured by the first page. This is a story I am sure I will read over and over. " - A Novel Review
" I was fascinated with the details about silk manufacture and the part these silk weavers played for the war effort.

5 out of 5 for me! Onto my Top reads for 2013 list.
" - DizzyC's Little Book Blog
"It will pull on your heartstrings, and like any good book, will make you think about what you might have done in the same situations." - Readin and Dreamin
"There are precious few authors who can boast having brought me to tears, but thanks to her powerfully emotive debut, The Last Telegram, Liz Trenow can count herself among them." - Flashlight Commentary
"A remarkable story of inconsolable heartbreak, first love, and forgiveness, The Last Telegram will surely leave an indelible impression on all who read it." - Historical Novels Review
"Trenow has given us a treasure, and readers will well look forward to her next book." - The Chicago Book Review
"If you are interested in the historical background to this story, and in the process of weaving, then I can highly recommend Liz Trenow's The Last Telegram. For me, it was a fascinating read." - Helena Fairfax