The Last Sword Maker

Brian Nelson (Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$17.99
Publisher
Blackstone Publishing
Publish Date
October 15, 2019
Dimensions
5.6 X 1.3 X 8.5 inches | 1.3 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781982546526
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Brian Nelson is a former Fulbright Scholar who holds degrees in international relations, economics, and creative writing (fiction). His first book, The Silence and the Scorpion: The Coup against Chรกvez and the Making of Modern Venezuela, was named one of the Best Books of 2009 by The Economist. His work has appeared in the Virginia Quarterly Review, Christian Science Monitor, and the Southern Humanities Review, among others. He lives in Colorado with his wife and two children.

Reviews

"The danger is unique, and the treachery vast, in this rapid-paced adventure that delivers in equal doses of amazing, yet possible. An intriguing tale that will leave you thinking."

-- "Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author of The Malta Exchange"

"An amazing read. The Last Sword Maker has everything: a riveting story, fascinating characters, cutting-edge technology, and, of course, romance. Great!"

-- "Moisรฉs Naรญm, New York Times bestselling author of The End of Power"

"The Last Sword Maker is a techno-thriller that will make you nostalgic for the days when we only had to worry about nuclear annihilation; an all-too-plausible examination of how emerging technologies could be weaponized to horrible ends. I don't recommend reading this one right before bedtime--unless you are prepared to stay up very, very late to finish it."

-- "Lisa Brackmann, New York Times bestselling author of Rock Paper Tiger and Go-Between"

"The next big thing in warfare is small--so small you can't see it at all. The Last Sword Maker imagines a superpower competition at the collision point of nanocomputing, programmable viruses and weaponized biohacking. At stake, control over the life and death of virtually every person on the planet, at a level granular enough to make a nuclear weapon look laughably crude in comparison. Set in the not-too-distant future, the result is a head-spinning sci-fi-infused military thriller, with China and the United States putting everything they have into developing the perfect weapon, no matter the cost."

-- "Francisco Toro, columnist, Washington Post"

"Brian Nelson has written a compelling thriller. Set in the near future, the story finds China and the US immersed in a race to weaponize nanotechnology that recalls the intensity of the Manhattan Project and, later, the near panic in the West when Sputnik revealed the Soviets were ahead of the US in the space race. Nelson's riveting narrative captures the drama of great power competition and the price the military men and scientists are forced to pay to contend with a determined and unscrupulous enemy. This is a terrific debut."

-- "Patrick Duddy, Duke University, former US Ambassador to Venezuela"

"Nelson makes his fiction debut with a gripping, frighteningly plausible techno-thriller, the first in his Course of Empire series...Nelson's intriguing scientific predictions and distinctive near-future setting make this sure to please speculative fiction readers as well as thriller fans."

-- "Publishers Weekly"

"A terrifying vision of future warfare in the vein of Tom Clancy's and Michael Crichton's novels...The Last Sword Maker is a powerhouse near-future thriller with explosive action and exciting science."

-- "Foreword Reviews"