The Land of Forgotten Girls Lib/E

Erin Entrada Kelly (Author) Lulu Lam (Read by)
Backorder

Description

In this acclaimed novel from Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better.

School Library Journal called The Land of Forgotten Girls "A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance." For readers of Pam Muñoz Ryan, Rita Williams-Garcia, and anyone searching for the true meaning of family. Winner of a Parents' Choice Gold Award.

Soledad has always been able to escape into the stories she creates. Just like her mother always could. And Soledad has needed that escape more than ever in the five years since her mother and sister died, and her father moved Sol and her youngest sister from the Philippines to Louisiana. After her father leaves, all Sol and Ming have is their evil stepmother, Vea. Sol has protected Ming all this time, but then Ming begins to believe that Auntie Jove--their mythical, world-traveling aunt--is really going to come rescue them. Can Sol protect Ming from this impossible hope?

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly writes masterfully about the challenges of finding hope in impossible circumstances, in this novel that will appeal to fans of Cynthia Kadohata and Thanhha Lai.

Booklist said, "Kelly's sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol's true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life."

Product Details

Price
$49.99
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
March 01, 2016
Dimensions
6.5 X 1.2 X 6.1 inches | 0.55 pounds
Language
English
Type
Compact Disc
EAN/UPC
9781504696104

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

New York Times-bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly was awarded the Newbery Medal for Hello, Universe. Her debut novel, Blackbird Fly, was a Kirkus Best Book, a School Library Journal Best Book, an ALSC Notable Book, and an Asian/Pacific American Literature Honor Book. She is also the author of The Land of Forgotten Girls, winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, and You Go First, a New York Times bestseller, Spring 2018 Indie Next Pick, Kirkus Reviews Best Book, and School Library Journal Best Book. She grew up in Lake Charles, Louisiana, and now lives in Delaware. www.erinentradakelly.com

LuLu Lam is a professional imaginaire, hoop dancer, yogini, and audiobook narrator. She has acted in national commercials and television shows such as The Mindy Project on Fox and ABC's All My Children.

Reviews

Sisterhood, friendship, truth, hope: these are the themes that lift The Land of Forgotten Girls...into the realm of the truly special....Readers who feel marginalized or alone in their troubles-and who doesn't at times?-will adore Sol and her ragtag family, both chosen and real.

-- "Shelf Awareness"

[An] enchanting plot..[with] a little bit of everything-fantasy, realism, sisterhood, friendship, suspense, and humor.

-- "School Library Journal (starred review)"

Kelly's sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol's true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life.

-- "Booklist (starred review)"

Kelly balances the bleak and the beautiful in a novel about the multilayered bond between sisters...Kelly's strong heroine offers hope in the face of loss.

-- "Publishers Weekly"

This stirring and original story ends on a credibly hopeful note while remaining firmly rooted in reality, and readers who have embraced Sol will be cautiously optimistic for her future.

-- "Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books"

Lam effortlessly blends a wide variety of emotions, backgrounds, and intensities as she tells Kelly's nuanced, resonating story about life between two cultures, surviving loss, and finding family in the least expected places.

-- "School Library Journal (audio review)"

Narrator LuLu Lam's silvery, matter-of-fact tones are perfectly suited to portray Sol...As the narrative jumps between past and present, between misery and anticipation, Lam's range and insight guide her through a parade of intriguing characters...Lam's poise and skill give extra weight to the action, and bolster the fantastical stories that Sol uses to keep herself strong in times of despair.

-- "AudioFile"