The House of Whispers

Laura Purcell (Author)
Available

Description

A new gothic Victorian tale from Laura Purcell, set on the atmospheric Cornish coast in a rambling house by the sea in which a maid cares for a mute old woman with a mysterious past, alongside her superstitious staff.

Consumption has ravaged Louise Pinecroft's family, leaving her and her father alone and heartbroken. But Dr. Pinecroft has plans for a revolutionary experiment: convinced that sea air will prove to be the cure his wife and children needed, he arranges to house a group of prisoners suffering from the disease in the caves beneath his new Cornish home. While he devotes himself to his controversial medical trials, Louise finds herself increasingly discomfited by the strange tales her new maid tells of the fairies that hunt the land, searching for those they can steal away to their realm.

Forty years later, Hester arrives at Morvoren House to take up a position as nurse to the now partially paralyzed and mute Miss Pinecroft. Hester has fled to Cornwall to try to escape her past, but surrounded by superstitious staff enacting bizarre rituals, she soon discovers her new home may be just as dangerous as her last.

Product Details

Price
$17.00  $15.64
Publisher
Penguin Books
Publish Date
June 09, 2020
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.1 X 0.6 X 7.8 inches | 0.5 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780143135531

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Laura Purcell is the author of The Silent Companions and The Poison Thread. She worked in local government, the financial industry and a bookshop before becoming a full-time writer. She lives in Colchester, the oldest recorded town in England, with her husband and pet guinea pigs. Fascinated by the darker side of royal history, Laura has also written two historical fiction novels about the Hanoverian dynasty.

Reviews

"Purcell has a sure storytelling touch, a command of atmosphere and a keen eye for the telling details of social history. Oh, and she stores up some satisfying and suitably macabre final revelations." --The Guardian

"A Victorian tale replete with laudanum, tuberculosis and possibly fairies... a clever, creepy read." --Sunday Express, Best New Thrillers

"Brilliantly atmospheric and chilling... I raced through the pages hardly daring to find out what would happen next. Laura's characters and the world they inhabit are compelling, unsettling and richly drawn. A fabulous tale!" --Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things

Praise for The Poison Thread

"Uncanny... Satisfying." --New York Times Book Review

"[A] well-wrought chiller." --Wall Street Journal

"Suspenseful... This smart and sophisticated historical thriller will appeal to fans of Sarah Waters's Fingersmith and Margaret Atwood's Alias Grace." --Publishers Weekly

"A dark, gothic story... Purcell alternates character narratives to question motives, reality, and truth on a 'bumpy' ride full of violence and death." --Booklist

"A fascinating mystery that's rich in disquieting detail and at-mosphere." --BookPage