The House of Owls

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$18.00
Publisher
Yale University Press
Publish Date
Pages
224
Dimensions
6.9 X 0.5 X 9.2 inches | 0.85 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780300223422

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Tony Angell is the author or illustrator of numerous books in the fields of art and natural history.

Reviews

"[An] enchanting look-in on some of the least known birds of the animal kingdom... Throughout Angell uses his own intricate illustrations and approachable descriptions to make it easy to understand these strange bird's anatomy."--Laura Cole, Geographical--Laura Cole"Geographical" (04/01/2017)
"Tony Angell writes (and draws) with the absolute authority of one who has studied, rehabilitated, lived with and loved the animals his whole life . . . This book is alive with his chiaroscuro depictions of owls in every imaginable pursuit."--Wall Street Journal
"The House of Owls is the apotheosis of a life-time's engagement with owls. Steeped in the tradition of Alexander Wilson and John James Audubon, it blends taxonomy, ornithology, biogeography and autobiography."--Janette Currie, Times Literary Supplement
"A charming personal account, accompanied by nearly 100 illustrations, that underscores how owls and other birds enrich our lives."--Kirkus Reviews
"[Angell's] accounts of owls' lives and habits, along with his intimate, detailed illustrations, manage to make the creatures seem both more familiar and more mysterious . . . A tale well-told, beautifully illustrated, and imparted by just the right voice."--American Scientist
Winner of the 2015 National Outdoor Book Award for the Nature & Environment category
"Two worlds of wisdom meet in The House of Owls, nature's own in the survival of an owl family through the generations and the all-seeing eye of the artist who is their host and diarist. Tony Angell magnificently depicts this long mutual near-kinship and much more in words straight from the heart and illustrations masterfully true to life."--Ivan Doig, author of The Whistling Season
"Few artists move us with both words and images. The vigor, unique adaptations and essential life-blood of North American Owls, propelled by powerful illustrations and intimate accounts, animate the pages of The House of Owls, another masterful work by Tony Angell."--Paul Bannick, author of The Owl and The Woodpecker
"The House of Owls is, simply, a delight for a strigiphile like me. But it will also delight any birder or naturalist, and all those who care about the living world and its more remarkable manifestations."--From the Foreword by Robert Michael Pyle, author of Chasing Monarchs and Mariposa Road
"There is no other writer on birds today who so perfectly combines a life of observation with his own art and the kind of up-to-date information one gets from associating with researchers."--Stephen Bodio, contributing editor of Living Bird and author of Aloft, Querencia, and An Eternity of Eagles