The Hollow Ones

Guillermo del Toro (Author) Chuck Hogan (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$28.00  $25.76
Publisher
Grand Central Publishing
Publish Date
August 04, 2020
Pages
336
Dimensions
6.2 X 8.7 X 1.3 inches | 1.3 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781538761748

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Guillermo del Toro was born in Guadalajara, Mexico, in 1964. He is the director of the films Cronos, Mimic, The Devil's Backbone, Blade II, Hellboy, Hellboy II, Pacific Rim, and Pan's Labyrinth, which garnered enormous critical praise worldwide and won three Academy Awards, and The Shape of the Water, which won the 2018 Oscar Award for Best Picture.
Chuck Hogan is the author of several acclaimed novels, including Devils in Exile and Prince of Thieves, which won the 2005 Hammett Award, was named one of the ten best novels of the year by Stephen King, and was the basis of the motion picture The Town.

Reviews

"If one could combine the world-conjuring magic of C. S. Lewis with the dark energy of Thomas Harris, one would be at least part of the way to understanding what makes THE HOLLOW ONES so special. Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan have yet another twisted masterpiece on their hands. An enduring new series combining horror, suspense, and fable."--Stephen Chbosky, NYT bestselling author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Imaginary Friend
"A welcome gift to disciples of Lovecraft-ian fiction. Odessa Hardewick is cast in the mold of Clarice Starling. . . Inventive and macabre."--Kirkus
"Fans of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child's Pendergast books will be enthralled."--Publishers Weekly
PRAISE FOR THE HOLLOW ONES:
"The central aesthetic decision -- merging the classical horrors of Algernon Blackwood with a distinctly contemporary narrative -- is both surprising and ultimately successful. The Hollow Ones is a swift, thoroughly imagined entertainment that looks back at the genre's past while hinting, in the final pages, of future installments to come. The possibilities are limitless."--Washington Post
"Fans of Oscar-winner Guillermo del Toro -- the co-writer with Chuck Hogan -- will appreciate the focus on the monsters at the center of the tale. . . The book is a quick read, with propulsive action and just enough explication to keep readers interested. . . del Toro and Hogan ground the story in just enough reality to keep you turning the pages."--Associated Press
"A transporting, pageturning thriller that rips open a brand new universe, filling it with suspense. Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan have a dark vision to share -- and they've created quite a duo in Hugo Blackwood and Odessa Hardwicke, a Sherlockian partnership for the ages."--Brad Meltzer, #1 NYT bestselling author of The Escape Artist