The Hiding Place

(Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$17.00  $15.64
Publisher
Ballantine Books
Publish Date
Pages
304
Dimensions
5.1 X 0.8 X 7.9 inches | 0.55 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781524761028
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

C. J. Tudor is the author of The Hiding Place and The Chalk Man, which won the International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel and the Strand Magazine Award for Best Debut Novel. Over the years she has worked as a copywriter, television presenter, voice-over artist, and dog walker. She is now thrilled to be able to write full-time, and doesn't miss chasing wet dogs through muddy fields all that much. She lives in England with her partner and daughter.

Reviews

"Tudor maintains a tone of creeping dread throughout the book, of something lingering always in the background, coyly hiding its face while whispering promises of very bad things to come. In the last quarter, however, she goes for broke with outright horror, giving readers an effective jolt of adrenaline that will carry them all the way to the terrifying conclusion. Readers won't know what hit them. Tudor came out swinging with The Chalk Man, but this one puts her firmly on the map. Not to be missed." --Kirkus

"Tudor has crafted another fantastic horror-tinged thriller (after The Chalk Man, 2018) in the vein of John Connolly and Brendan Duffy" - Booklist

"Some writers have it, and some don't. CJ Tudor has it big time - The Hiding Place is terrific in every way." - LEE CHILD

"With The Hiding Place, CJ Tudor has proven that she is a true master at creating perfectly dark, highly propulsive, and tightly coiled mysteries that are utterly impossible to put down. From page one, the reader is pulled in with a gathering sense of dread, and taken on an addictive, thrilling ride to the very last page." - AIMEE MOLLOY, New York Times Bestselling author of The Perfect Mother

"Dark, gothic and utterly compelling, The Hiding Place pulls off a rare combination - an atmosphere of unsettling evil along with richly nuanced characterisation." - JP DELANEY

"Deliciously creepy, impeccably plotted and laced with both wicked humor and genuine shocks, The Hiding Place is the kind of read-under-the-covers thriller you didn't think people wrote anymore. Lucky for us, C.J. Tudor still does. An absolute corker of a book." -- Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of FINAL GIRLS and THE LAST TIME I LIED

"Gripping and dark, The Hiding Place descends like its very own mine shaft, getting creepier the further you go. You'll race to the finish." - ROZ NAY, internationally bestselling author of Our Little Secret

"Razor-sharp writing and masterful plotting drive this dark story about a small town, buried secrets, and ghosts from the past. Witty and compelling all at once, The Hiding Place is a must read page-turner!" - WENDY WALKER, bestselling author of All Is Not Forgotten

"Delicious in every way. A deliciously creepy story, deliciously told. Storytelling like a siren's song: your hair will prickle and stand on end but you won't be able to tear your eyes from the page. If you like Tana French, you will love, love, love C.J. Tudor." - ALMA KATSU, author of The Hunger

"WOW WOW WOW!
CJ Tudor's follow-up to her impressive debut is superbly chilling and delightfully creepy. Smartly written and brilliantly plotted, here is a book that crawls under your skin and hooks on until you reach that jaw-dropping ending." - CJ COOKE, author of I Know My Name